Newest Cloud Buster

N50909

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
TexASH Pilot
As of about 9:30 this morning, I am an Instrument Rated Private Pilot. :) :) :)

Thanks, guys!!

For me it's definitely just another license to learn. I look back at my PPL and it's amazing how little I knew back then. I hope to say the same about getting my IR in a few years.

Here's the checkride story. It was was easier than I expected (aren't they always?). Without me really being too aware of it, my CFII and the cheif instructor had put me through an almost identical oral and checkride 3 times in the last couple of weeks.

The oral was mostly regs. I was warned about this before-hand so it wasn't a surprise when the DPE said my answer for flying the highest of the Cleared, Expected, and MEA altitudes was correct 99% of the time but could get me killed or "violated" the other 1%. The example he gave was flying out ASH, cleared up to 2,000, expect 4,000 in 10 minutes. MEA is 5,000 (for example). If I lose the radio immediately after takeoff, and climb immediately to 6,000 (since I'm heading West I have to fly even alts) I could end up flying right through the approach path of planes landing at MHT. If I wait 10 before climbing to 4,000 I stay under MHT's approach pattern. Discuss amongst yourselves. He had a couple of hot button issues and towards the end it turned into more of a teaching session for these hot buttons (like the lost com altitudes) than an an inquisition. Since my written score was kinda low, he said I must be one of those people who suck on the written, but do well on the oral. That was nice to hear.