Newbie here - dreaming - a few questions

2Airtime2

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Cherokee 180c
I'm not a pilot yet but recently got the bug (bad). My father was a private pilot but hasn't flown since 1976. My maternal grandfather was a world class aerobatic pilot, builder, racer, aero mechanic, and I won't say world class designer because I don't know for sure. I do know he took self designed plans from his drafting table out to his hanger and built then flew his own designs.

If I persue the license I would want my own plane. For now I'm going to say my purchase price limit will be $30k. I've even been looking at houses with acreage suitable for a private grass strip (like I say, I've got it bad).

I'm intrigued by STOL planes but have looked (online only) at 172's, Piper Cherokees, and Beech's similar to the Cherokee. I've never worked as a mechanic but am very mechanically inclined (probably got that from Grandfather). I recently rebuilt a '79 Camaro Z-28 cutting out body and frame rust and welding in patches. I did all the engine assembly but had the machine shop do the heads and other checks. Re-built the suspension, etc., etc., etc.

My son totaled his '98 Accord a few yrs ago. I took the settlement $ and rebuilt it to new condition. Hood, front fenders, core support, raditor, condenser, front lights, etc., etc., etc. I have skills.:wink2: I didn't paint the Honda but I did paint the Z-28.

If I want to do my own annuals, maintenance, and repairs do I need to focus on experimental only or as the plane owner could I do a major engine overhaul on a Piper? I think I read somewhere that there are experimental planes and certified planes, is that right with different rules for each?

How hard is it to get certified to do the overhauls myself? It would pain me to spend $25k on an engine overhaul on a $15k airplane.