Newbie here and need advice

uh-60crewdawg

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
JET
Good evening,

I found this message board on Google, and from what I have read, I am really impressed with the expertise advice. I want to get my Private Pilots license, but I have several medical concerns that I'd like opinions on before I even waste time trying to pursue this dream of mine. I've not seen an AME yet.

Now, my situation is: I am a 34 year old male, I am veteran of Iraq (Army UH-60 crew).I receive disability from the Dept. of Veterans Affairs for being diagnosed with PTSD and Re-Adjustment disorder. This was back in 2008-2009 timeframe. For this, I have been prescribed by my VA physician from then to the present:

Bupropion HCL 150MG 12HR SA TAB (2 daily)

Fluoxetine HCL 20MG CAP (3 daily)

By my primary care physician I have been prescribed Lisinopril for High Blood Pressure 5 MG (1 daily).

I also take an occasional OTC Zyrtec for seasonal allergies.

What advice do you folks have to offer? Do I have a snowballs chance of getting an up slip or am I chasing a pipe dream?

Thank you in advance,

JT

:heli:

Wait for Dr Bruce, he'll know about the meds and the PTSD issues.

Remember, you can always fly Light Sport. But not after a medical application has been denied.

Thank you for your service to our country, JT.

As Bill said, don't fill out any official FAA forms until you have had a conversation with Dr. Bruce Chien. He is very well equipped to provide the correct advice regarding obtaining your medical certificate. If it's possible, he'll say so.

If you need to speak with him offline, his contact info can be found at www.aeromedicaldoc.com.

FAA does not like PTSD. The SI pathway (of which I was author #2 of 4) only provides for one of Fluoxetine, Sertraline, citalopram or escitalopram for the diagnosis of DEPRESSION. And for Depression you have to be stable on ONE med for a year. PTSD is a horse of a different color.