New Student, Questioning Future

joeparrilla

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
JoeP
Hi Everyone,

I am an aviation lover that has recently decided to take the step and get a PPL. I have 3 flights scheduled in the coming 3 weeks, and I am very excited.

After doing a lot of reading about the state of GA, I am having some major fears about my future. I want to fly totally for fun, I am a full time software developer and I do not plan to change that. I am interested in possibly pursuing aerobatics as a future goal.. we will see. I am frequently reading peoples claims about GA, and have read a lot of extreme statements about the inevitable collapse of GA. I have even read comments where people expect to see a near complete collapse of the industry in the coming decade... due to the aging pilot community and closing of airports.

I am making a lot of sacrifices in order to afford this, because it is truly a dream and a passion. It would really be terrible if I spent over a year and many thousands of dollars doing this, only to find that I couldnt fly for fun in the coming decades of my life. If I were rich and had all the time/money in the world... I might not care about throwing this time and money at something and then not be able to do it 10 years down the line. In my case this is a big decision, and one that I do not want to regret.

Does anyone one have any ideas on this? Obviously we cannot predict the future... but what do you expect? Will the demographic just move higher in the upper class? Will the industry just be gone all together? Is this all nonsense? I have figured that once I finish training, I could probably afford to fly a few times a month, if prices and availability change so that I can only do it a fraction as often... I wonder how worth it this is. I appreciate any input you guys have as I make this big step into a dream of mine.