New Student complications

N6958H

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
N6958H
Wow this site is awesome! Glad I finally found a group of people that love to fly and talk about flying. I am a student pilot with 15 hours and doing as much as possible to accomplish my goal of being a private pilot. I have notice a few things since I started flying that really bugs me. Instead of the positive feedback from non fliers I expected I receive a lot of negative comments. It in no way effects my passion for being in the sky. I love every aspect of flight from my pre flight up until the plane is back in the hangar. Just wondered if anyone else experienced this as you started your journey becoming a pilot.

Jeremy

First off welcome to Pilots of America. I encourage you to share your training experience and ask a lot of questions. As for non pilots well like anything else some folks think its very cool and some who don't know much or anything about aviation may give you grief, my advice try to educate them if that doesn't work just ignore them.

What kind of negative comments?

Welcome.

Are the comments about flying in general or about doing it commercially for a living?

Non-pilots will comment about how dangerous private flying is (based on occasional news reports of accidents).

I reply with my personal experience over the 34 years I have been flying (no accidents, yet), and how I manage risk by not flying VFR into clouds, having plenty of fuel, etc... Then I mention some of the interesting places I have been with the plane (SCUBA diving in the Keys, skiing in the Rockies, Washington DC, the Bahamas, etc). Often they just say something like "that sounds like fun", and go back to watching others live their lives on TV.