New Member / Student Pilot

rbhankins001

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Rob
Hello everyone.

My name is Rob Hankins and I am really glad I found this forum. I stayed up all night reading on here about different things. Lot of great info!

I am currently a student pilot w/ 14 hrs logged. I partnered on a C150L to learn in. My flying so far has been split 50/50 between KMJD, Picayune, MS (my winter home), and JNU, GST Juneau, AK to Gustavus, AK (my summer home and business).

The main reason I am learning to fly is a practical one. My work and summer residence are in the land locked town of Gustavus, Alaska. Driving my boat (I am a boat captain by trade) to Juneau and back is about 4.5 hrs travel time, and about 80 gallons of gas (Gas is $5/gallon there). In a 150 it is about a 28 minute flight (going around mountain, can go through the pass and shave off a few minutes) and roundtrip is about 6 gallons (100LL is $6.85 there).

Of course there are other reasons as well! I really enjoy flying just for the sake of flying. I can honestly say I don't know anywhere it could be more beautiful to fly than in Alaska (although we don't get the nice weather that we have down South). You really want a high wing up there so you can take in the scenery: whales, moose, beer, deer, sheep, mountains, glaciers etc.

Anyways sorry for the ramble. Just wanted to introduce myself on here and maybe network with some people from the area(s) I am flying in.

So if you fly in or around New Orleans, LA, or Juneau, AK drop me a line it would be great to meet some people into aviation.

-Rob Hankins

Welcome Rob..... This is a great place to visit with other aviation addicts:yesnod:

Ben.

Welcome to POA. Always glad to have a new person join us. Keep us posted on your training. We're always learning.