New inspiring student pilot looking for some tips

A/c mech

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Alpha Charlie
Hello pilots/student pilots. My first post here on this forum. A little about myself;
I'm a fairly new A&P mechanic (little over a year). I work for a major airline (love my job). Absolutely love EVERYTHING about aviation! Married father of three. (2girls, and my lil buddy)
Anyways my next goal is to get my PPL then move on to maybe getting a CFI to get some "side money". I have a couple questions. What/how is the most inexpensive way to go about getting my license? I'm currently studying/reading ground school and plan on knocking that out of the way before even starting flying lessons. I talked to a flying club here in Hawthorne,Ca and may join to get flying instruction for a very good discount for trade for my A&P services. Sounds like a great deal because there is a good bunch of guys that know their $**t about GA. The only thing is that they suggested that I fly at least 3 times a week or it may be a waste of time because I "would forget more than I would learn". Don't know if I can devote $300-$400/wk to flying right now. Is this true? Should I just wait til I have about $4000-$5000 saved up just for lessons? What I would really like to do is purchase my own plane and just find a CFI to train me in my own plane. Being a mechanic takes care of most of the major costs. I really want to start lessons but financially I don't think I'm ready. Yet...
Well sorry to the long winded first post but I am real passionate and excited about aviation (DORK) haha...
Thanks Alan

Saving up at least 2/3's of the money needed to complete is a good idea. As is flying 2-3 times a week.

Saving the money in advance helps to reduce the chance that life's interruptions and the Monty need to cover it put a stop on your training.

There are two ways to go: