New here

siverscolt

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Sylvain
hey guys,
since im new here, let me introduce myself.
im a french private pilot, aged 33 with 1 wife and 2 kids (sadly not the opposite :D). Im planning a trip to the US next year to check by myself if the freedom of flight you guys have in this country is for real...
i decided to join this forum to get a better overview of what it is all about since it will be my first time flying there, i'm pretty sure i'll get plenty of useful tips from all of guys...
also let me publish a video of what flying in my country looks like just in case someone would be tempted (communications are in french but subtitles are available).

http://youtu.be/zfFbkLmJ46Q

Sylvain

Welcome to POA, Sylvaine. That airplane has some great acceleration at times! :goofy:

Nice airport on that island. :)

2 questions: why are the comms in French? I thought they were English everywhere. Also, was there ATC at your destination? It looked like a tiny field, but they still cleared you to land. Is that just a remote ATC facility that has control over that airport or is there ATC on field. Seemed like a CTAF destination.

2 questions: why are the comms in French? I thought they were English everywhere..
They are not even all English in Quebec. :)

I think ATC is required to know English and speak it to pilots who start out the communication in English but in many countries they speak the native language when pilots make their initial call in that language.

In France, you are free to use either french or english with ATC, it's up to you and legal.

At my destination, it was not ATC, but what we call an AFIS (Aerodrome Flight Information Service) which is only there to provide you with informations regarding weather on the airport and traffic he is aware of in the vicinity of that airport. He never gives you clearances, just informations.