New dude looking for advice

o3rugby1

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Ed
Hey guys, long time lurker first time poster. Im looking for advice on my private pilots lic. I live in central KY about 22 miles from lexington and 40 miles from louisville. Im a 41 year old professional firefighter with the 1 day on 2 day off scheduel. Got between 5-8 years to be able to retireer depending on the colleges my girls choose to get into. In a nutshell im wanting to get my private pilots lic. I love planes and enjoy flying. However i do not know the next step, theres pilot schools at both airports are promising the zero to hero deals which im not interested in. Should i seek out a independent instructor? I did join my local civil airpatrol in lexington to hopefully get to know some of the guys and lend a hand with some of my so called expertise on ems and emmergency managment stuff. This will at least get me around some aircraft and hopefully point me in the right direction. Im not looking for a career ive got one. Im just looking to fly. Thanks this is a great place to visit.
Ed

Welcome! I can't help but glad you decided to take the plunge. A number of firefighters are aviation enthusiasts and seem to enjoy it. Hope you do too!

Ed-

Welcome to PoA!

The one on, two off schedule should allow you to quickly and efficiently secure your ticket.

In general, you'll find that there are some flight schools which are large and uniform, and tend to have younger flight instructors. Others are smaller, less regimented (often less costly, as well), and f course, you may find an independent flight instructor who serves your needs well. You need to shop around, meet some folks and see whom you like.

In addition to all that, your CAP connections may well help you.

Perhaps we'll get a PoA member from your area to pop up...

...Happy New Year!