NEED HELP-WHEN TO USE WHICH FREQUENCIES AND WHY-ATC, UNICOM, CTAF, Stations, ATIS…

ZMSATX

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
ZMSATX
I am a student pilot (40 hours, just completed solo cross country)
Where can I get solid explanations for which frequencies to use and their purposes. What info does each frequency type provide to the pilot?

I am struggling with understanding who I need to contact...when and how do I determine which frequency is appropriate by looking at the sectional and Airport Directories.

Thanks!

Re: NEED HELP-WHEN TO USE WHICH FREQUENCIES AND WHY-ATC, UNICOM, CTAF, Stations, ATIS

Where can I get solid explanations for which frequencies to use and their purposes. What info does each frequency type provide to the pilot?

I am struggling with understanding who I need to contact...when and how do I determine which frequency is appropriate by looking at the sectional and Airport Directories.

Thanks!

This is a very broad question and indicates you and your instructor need to sit down and do some ground training. As far as a reference for you, the AIM (aeronautical information manual) addresses your questions and is online (and searchable).

Last edited:
Re: NEED HELP-WHEN TO USE WHICH FREQUENCIES AND WHY-ATC, UNICOM, CTAF, Stations, ATIS

You won't find "center" frequencies on the sectional.
Each airport is under airspace controlled by a controlling body.

If you are near class b/c it is going to be their approach / departure frequencies.

I think I know what you are asking. This is part of pre planning.

Go to skyvector.com and look up your local uncontrolled field out in the middle of nowhere.

Right click and click the blue link that pops up

for example: http://skyvector.com/airport/0F2/Bowie-Municipal-Airport
middle frame, 3rd from the top you see a box called airport communications and at the bottom you see:

Remarks:
  • APCH/DEP SERVICE PROVIDED BY FORT WORTH ARTCC ON FREQS 127.95/322.325 (WICHITA FALLS NR 2 RCAG).