[NA]remoting in with Schlage[NA]

Discussion in 'Hangar Talk' started by Let'sgoflying!, Jan 9, 2021.

  1. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    Anyone have a Schlage home/work electronic lock they connect with remotely using iphone?
    Trying to learn more.

    It looks like Schlage Connect requires Zwave? (which is $120/yr; wifi)
    Seems pricey for such a simple function but maybe there is more to it than what I figure.

    And Schlage Sense locks use their app (Schlage Sense app) or AppleHomeKit app (free; bluetooth)
    Wondering how it would connect remotely if it only uses BT.

    I need a keypad entry at work; we are curbside and everyone is sick of getting locked out by the 'other' employee.
    Fingerprint ID would be fastest entry but I have not seen a Schlage that can do this.

    I want to be able to see if the work front door is locked or not, from home.
    I want to be able to lock/unlock remotely

    Post your thoughts.
     
  2. catmandu

    catmandu Cleared for Takeoff PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,427
    Location:
    Sierra Nevada
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Catmandu
    We have two Schlage Encode deadbolts, no additional fees after initial purchase from a blue big box store (uses local wifi). The app will do exactly what you want, I have had no issues with it at all, status notifications push to my iPhone within seconds. Start your codes on one of the top two corners of the keypad for easier entry under dark lighting conditions (keypad lights up after first contact).
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  3. FORANE

    FORANE En-Route

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2,510
    Location:
    TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FORANE
    We have Schlage locks:
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07KQPQMXS/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_IsV-Fb0PPWDZP?_encoding=UTF8
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00D1M66GQ/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_ptV-FbMVFE4SD?_encoding=UTF8
    They require a hub to connect to wifi for remote access:
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FJGGWJL/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_WuV-Fb9E2EM6B?_encoding=UTF8
    Works great with the ability to lock/unlock from your phone anywhere, set different codes, etc.
    No ongoing cost after purchase of equipment other than cost to keep wifi. Even tracks a log of when locked/unlocked with what code, and even will alert your phone through the hub app when it occurs in real time.
    But if you only need different codes, why do you need remote access? Just setup a few codes and nobody gets locked out.
     
  4. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    it’s just a useful feature; often staff leaves it unlocked at night!
    If I’m going to change it, I might as well get that option at the same time
     
  5. FORANE

    FORANE En-Route

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2,510
    Location:
    TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FORANE
    Agree it is useful, but I don't believe those locks require internet connection to auto-lock (if you seek to avoid that cost).
     
  6. Zeldman

    Zeldman Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,344
    Location:
    high desert NM
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Billy
    I always think that if I can use my phone to lock/unlock the door then so can someone else.

    But I can see how this would be useful to see who is coming and going and at what times.
     
  7. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    In the video it is being set up on a phone; is that not via internet? Maybe BT which means very close to the building?
     
  8. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    If it stores a 10 day log that would be really useful!
    Sometimes the timeclock fails
    Sometime staff comes in after hours without my permission or knowledge
    Sometimes staff claims to have done this or that and knowing if they were actually in the building would be one way to verify their claim was even possible.
     
    Zeldman likes this.
  9. FORANE

    FORANE En-Route

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2,510
    Location:
    TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FORANE
    The setup requires (I believe requires) the Samsung smartthings hub (or similar) to communicate with the lock. Once it is setup, I don't think it will stop functioning as programmed if it lacks internet connection.
     
  10. FORANE

    FORANE En-Route

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2,510
    Location:
    TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FORANE
    I just logged into my smartthings app. I can see a daily history of lock/unlock times through 1-2-21. It shows if it was locked manually or by code, and which code was used. If you assign a different code to each employee (and they only used their own code) you could track who came and went. That wifi connection with these locks is nice. We use it with our airbnb rentals.
     
  11. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    Looks like my choices are:

    a) With hub or smartthing or zwave or.... some other connected 'box'
    b) Schlage Encode which does not require additional 'box' and connects directly to my wifi and has no ongoing fees.

    I am averse to more boxes and wires as I have too many and lightning kills boxes here every year plus they always seem to be failing so I am looking closely at b)

    Feel free to correct; or add to my current lack of knowledge (um grammar much?)
     
  12. Cap'n Jack

    Cap'n Jack Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    7,626
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Cap'n Jack
    What sort of mechanical lock can't be defeated? Doors and windows can be broken, too, to the lock can be entirely bypassed.
     
  13. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    I am not posting about security so much as crowd control. I need to keep the public outside the building during office hours. Anyone can gain forcible entry to my building in moments and I realize that.
    (This thread is about which door locks would suit the purposes set out in post #1)
     
  14. SCCutler

    SCCutler Administrator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    16,976
    Location:
    Dallas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Spike Cutler
  15. SCCutler

    SCCutler Administrator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    16,976
    Location:
    Dallas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Spike Cutler
    Or this, better for weatherproof...

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08HN23WG2/

    You can just give either codes (readily changed or canceled) or fobs (cheap, easy to disable when employee's terminated).
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  16. Stewartb

    Stewartb Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    6,733
    Location:
    Wasilla, AK
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    stewartb
    Schlage has great wireless locks for commercial applications. For residential I think Yale has a leg up. You probably don't want or need the complexity of a wireless commercial lock that requires other infrastructure components. Residential stuff is simpler.

    I'm converting my front door to a Schlage AD200 keypad lock on Monday to ease employee access during the lockdown times. No remote function but I don't need it. Time clock function is very handy.
     
  17. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    19,656
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    I have six of the schlage 10 button Z-WAVE-enabled keypads. They work fine. I do have to periodically go change the batteries (4 AA each) in them, but not too often.
    I use their little ZWave gateway though it should work generically. Nice thing about the Schlage locks is the cores are pretty ubiquitous. I've got all mine keyed alike and the cores also fit the other (Anderson) doors so the keys work everywhere. However, I rarely use the keys.

    Amusingly about six years ago they all stopped talking to the base station. My theory was that my locks were early enough (I knew they had some non-standard ZWave issues) that a later software update to the hub caused them not to communicate anymore. Schlage/Ingersol refused to acknowledge this but they sent me six new locks anyhow (the new ones worked fine). I still have the old ones in a box (just saw them today cleaning up the hangar). They are fine as long as you don't need the network feature. The rest of the lock works fine.

    The only thing that the Schlage locks don't do is allow you to "unlock" them remotely. You can temporary unlock it (about the same time duration as if someone entered the combination), but you can't tell it to unlock and stay unlocked remotely. I guess that's a security thing. You can lock them remotely and set new combinations. Usually, if someone needs to get in, I set a tempoary combination to the last four of their phone number and then delete it later on. The thing does tell me WHICH code opened the door as well (by text message and it's logged).
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  18. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    I guess you could ask the person you are letting in to unlock it (ie for the rest of the day) after they are inside?
    Surely there is an option to leave it unlocked during biz hours? (I'm thinking, in my case, I can't have it locked after each entry - after the virus is gone)
     
  19. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    One feature I forgot was that my current Schlage keypad on another door is difficult to change the batteries on! You have to take it all apart and if you are not careful one side of the handle is hanging by that delicate cable. So, need one where battery change is a non-disassembly event taking 2 minutes tops.
     
  20. FORANE

    FORANE En-Route

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2,510
    Location:
    TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FORANE
    This is not true of my locks, but I don't have the auto-lock feature activated. So I presume it is the auto-lock that you cannot access and change remotely.
    This is not true of the model I linked in a post above. The inside black top plastic piece slides up and off. The removable 4 AA battery holder slides up and off.
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  21. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    19,656
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    Mine requires two screws to be removed and remove the interior trim piece. The battery is then behind an orange piece of plastic. Doesn't take much time, but it does require a screwdriver. They go a good long time and the software warns you when they are getting low (and the Schlage button flashes red a few times before going to green when the battery is low).
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  22. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    19,656
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    There's supposed to be a plastic retainer that keeps the "outside" part from coming off when you remove the inside to change the battery.
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  23. catmandu

    catmandu Cleared for Takeoff PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,427
    Location:
    Sierra Nevada
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Catmandu
    What he said. My Encode is the same way, click to view.

    [​IMG]
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  24. Sac Arrow

    Sac Arrow Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    17,420
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bro do you even lift
    What's wrong with a key?
     
  25. catmandu

    catmandu Cleared for Takeoff PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,427
    Location:
    Sierra Nevada
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Catmandu
    [​IMG]
     
    Ghery likes this.
  26. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    have done many years, many employees with keys = huge fail
     
    Ghery likes this.
  27. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    19,656
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    The company where I worked for 21 years lived for a long time with keys. When we got bigger we went to electronic entry. Amusingly, after they laid me off (over the phone while I was on vacation, Textron is a class act), I came back a year later as a consultant. I got a new badge (with my name spelled wrong, again Textron is a class act) which worked the electronic lock. I asked about the burglar alarm code. They said they no longer had anybody who knew how to set those (laid him off as well, I guess). I figured if nobody knew how to set them, nobody knew how to delete them. Sure enough, my old code still worked.