[NA] Monitor compatibility

Discussion in 'Technical Corner' started by Let'sgoflying!, Sep 29, 2017.

  1. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    15,127
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    I have a Win10 machine whose monitor quit. (I tested this monitor on other machines, it did not work so I tossed it)

    I tried 3 other proven-good monitors using known-good cables, and found only one that would work on this machine.
    Baffled why 2 of those won't work only on this machine.
     
  2. sferguson524

    sferguson524 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,591
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FormerSocalFlyer
    Machine might be putting out too high a resolution for the other 2.. Set it to something low like 1024x768 and try the other 2 again
     
  3. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    15,127
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    Thanks
    So you mean I should, using the working monitor, change the res to 1024x768, then plug in the apparently dead monitors?
     
  4. Ravioli

    Ravioli En-Route

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,716
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pasta Man
    Yup... and if it works at 1024x768 you can gradually increase it until you max out the monitor.

    Or you can googlize the monitors you have and determine their max resolutions first.
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  5. jsstevens

    jsstevens En-Route

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,790
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    jsstevens
    Or plug the monitor in before you power up the machine. The Windows drivers will query and setup the resolution for the monitor as it boots. (Usually correctly...)
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  6. sferguson524

    sferguson524 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,591
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FormerSocalFlyer
    correct.
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  7. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    15,127
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    guess Ive never run into this.
    sort of surprised there is no indication on the screen suggesting what the problem is. The screen is black. Will try test shortly.
     
  8. John221us

    John221us En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4,022
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    John
    It might be a driver issue too. Win 10 will usually auto detect and have most drivers, but google the monitor and see if there is a driver to download. You should also be able to find the optimal resolution for that screen.
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  9. Cap'n Jack

    Cap'n Jack Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,561
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Cap'n Jack
    How are you connecting? HDMI or the monitor out?
     
  10. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    15,127
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    this did not work
     
  11. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    15,127
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    this did not work
     
  12. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    15,127
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    Its the um blue multi-pin connector
    ie maybe 15 pins, shorter on one side than the other Not hdmi
     
  13. jsstevens

    jsstevens En-Route

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,790
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    jsstevens
    VGA. Sorry that didn't work. DVI or HDMI it'll almost always work, VGA it often works. Go back the set the resolution lower (1024x768 or 800x600) then try it.
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  14. cowman

    cowman En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3,290
    Location:
    Danger Zone
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Cowman
    I would think this wouldn't be a problem on newer hardware but check the refresh rate too. Dropping it to 60hz should work on almost any monitor.
     
    sferguson524 and Let'sgoflying! like this.
  15. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    15,127
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    So the known good monitor, after using as a test monitor - I took it back and plugged it back in with my shared screen (2 monitor) computer.....and there is something wrong with it after using it as a test!
    What could happen during a (failed) test do mess with this monitor?
    I can barely, faintly see a window open and some unreadable text. I have pushed the + sign on the brightness button repeatedly and hold down for 10 seconds but it does not get any brighter.
    It worked fine before plugging it into the problem computer!
    When I search for monitor brightness in the bottom left search box, it says there is an option under Settings>Display>Brightness and Color
    but they are mistaken, no such setting.

    (I continue to use the (only) monitor which works on the original problem computer)


    I have also tried only plugging in the dark monitor then restarting the computer.

    Dell Apr2006 "Model Number" followed by chinese characters
     
  16. sferguson524

    sferguson524 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,591
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FormerSocalFlyer
    2006, sounds like the backlight finally gave up the ghost.
     
  17. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    15,127
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    if so, bizarrely coincidental with its use as a 'known good' monitor, taken out of service to test another system!