[NA]car radiator flush solutions[NA]

Let'sgoflying!

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Dave Taylor
Actually it’s a generator with an engine much like a car.

Tap water?
Distilled water?
Special flush solutions ie NAPA/Autozone?

Flush with tap water and an Autozone mixture, if needed. If it ain’t broke, don’t.

Regular water. If it’s clogged so much it needs anything else, just replace it.

Regular water is fine. You can use Restore or Restore+ if you really want to get it clean inside be running it for a while, then flush with water and refill with coolant mix.

Mx manual says use standard mix coolant and do it every 3 years (its 3 now).
Thanks - thinking tap water; brief runup; drain and coolant refill.

If it's a diesel, as is common with larger generators, a SCA might be advisable to prevent cavitation associated damage.

Back when I was a mechanic we would put a capfull of powdered dish washing detergent in the radiator to flush it. Preferably Cascade.

Because it doesn't leave spots.

Seriously.

If it's a diesel, as is common with larger generators, a SCA might be advisable to prevent cavitation associated damage.

its more like a common car engine (I know there are diesels but I think gas are still more common) - anyway the manual says use a <particular brand> ethylene glycol.
Anytime I read xxx brand oil or other bodily fluid of engines I suspect a monetary bias is being invoked... Briggs and Stratton would tell us a particular brand oil, same with I think it was two stroke oil in the weedeater, once the warranty on a riding mower was longer if we used their brand of oil.
Does anyone think I'd go wrong to use Napa (or Autozone's) brand ethylene glycol?

its more like a common car engine (I know there are diesels but I think gas are still more common) - anyway the manual says use a <particular brand> ethylene glycol.