Music and the GMA340

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by Ronnie Godfrey, Nov 16, 2017.

  1. Ronnie Godfrey

    Ronnie Godfrey Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Longview, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ronnie Godfrey
    My airplane is equipped with a GMA340, and I’ve read that one can run a 3.5 mm audio input for music. Is this something an owner can do, or does,it need to be done by a shop? If I am allowed to do it, can anyone offer a little insight? Thanks!
     
  2. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    7,909
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    Shop territory.
     
  3. Ravioli

    Ravioli Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    5,173
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pasta Man
    If it's a certificated aircraft I'd take it to a shop.

    Probably my only gripe about the 340 is that there is not a face mounted music or aux jack. My Music1 is fed from a 696 so I have XM radio available. I didn't install a music2 jack... yet.
     
  4. Ronnie Godfrey

    Ronnie Godfrey Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Longview, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ronnie Godfrey
    Thanks for the feedback! I'll call around to a couple of shops and see if someone can make this happen for me. Long flights are so much better with a little tunage.
     
  5. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    7,909
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    There are headsets that can bluetooth to a music source and still be connected to aircraft radios. Just throwing it out there as an option. All the airplanes I fly have a jack on the panel or bluetooth in the audio panel.

    You could probably swap audio panels to a PS Engineering with bluetooth and aviod additional wiring expesnses. They have many options that will work with your currect rack and wiring. Depending on how much they wanna charge for just adding a jack maybe you might wish to swap audio panels.
     
    mscheuer likes this.
  6. GLMS_NC

    GLMS_NC Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    466
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rick
    Easy to add. Very easy in fact. Couple wires and a jack.
     
  7. Morgan3820

    Morgan3820 Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,193
    Location:
    New Bern, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Reno
    My Arrow had a jack wired to the GMA340. First thing I changed after the purchased, I replaced the -340 with a PS8000BT with a front mounted jack and Bluetooth. Took 10 minutes. Sold the -340. As bnt83 suggested a PS 8000 is a drop in swap. Way better audio panel.
     
    mscheuer likes this.
  8. Ronnie Godfrey

    Ronnie Godfrey Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Longview, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ronnie Godfrey
    GLMS, can you offer some insight on how to add those wires and jack? I don't mind getting my hands dirty, but I don't want to break anything in the process! I called the local avionics shop and they said it'd be in the neighborhood of $200 to add it in.