Moving to LI... KFRG

Fredo0709

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Austin
Hi, I'm a low time pilot looking to build time before going for an instrument rating. I've found several flight clubs but they are very hard to get a hold of to ask questions.

Does anyone have any recommendations for renting and perhaps a lesson or two? The two need not be the same place.

Thanks in advance!
Austin

Hi, I'm a low time pilot looking to build time before going for an instrument rating. I've found several flight clubs but they are very hard to get a hold of to ask questions.

Does anyone have any recommendations for renting and perhaps a lesson or two? The two need not be the same place.

Thanks in advance!
Austin

I like Nassau Flyers. I've finished my PPL there and are in the middle of instrument training. They have nice fleet of planes including SR20/22s and both Steam Gauge and G1000 C172S/SP. As with every flight school the biggest issue is your CFI "abandons" you half way through your training. NFI is no exception, but the staffs are great.

The other place that's pretty good is Ventura though I have no personal experience with them.

Good luck and feel free to shoot me a PM if you need any additional info.

Big plus-vote from me to Ventura. Very professional operation.
FRG is a fun airport to fly out of. Gets pretty busy at times, but that just adds to the fun.

Try ATC's sense of humor (especially the ladies), when you give your location as "at the Hooters" instead of "at the Mall"...

Global Aviation. Global Aviation has Warriors for $135/hr (non GPS) and $145/hr (G430). There are also students that are building time towards instrument and commercial ratings that want to split time. Here's the website http://www.globalaviationcorp.net/

I did my training with Positive Rate Gear Up and still rent from them. They are probably the least expensive on the field and they stay up with the maintenance. They also have a bunch of guys looking to build time