Mixture Control

Jaime P

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
AV8TOR
:blueplane: The School I have been teaching for many years teach to have the student lean 0ne inch back and there has never been a problem with the engine ever. Over the week I had a conversation with some instructors who believe in teaching mixture back until rough running a then enrichen. I usely show them the proper way after they have some hours under there belt. Would like to get some opinions.
JAIME

Jaime P said:
:blueplane: The School I have been teaching for many years teach to have the student lean 0ne inch back and there has never been a problem with the engine ever. Over the week I had a conversation with some instructors who believe in teaching mixture back until rough running a then enrichen. I usely show them the proper way after they have some hours under there belt. Would like to get some opinions.
JAIME

IMO, primacy--teach the student the correct way the first time.

I was taught to turn out slowly until engine starts to run ruff, then turn 1&1/4 turns back in. This ends up being 1" out.

Dean said:
I was taught to turn out slowly until engine starts to run ruff, then turn 1&1/4 turns back in. This ends up being 1" out.

That 1" is gonna depends on altitude however. I don't have the verniers in mine, but there's definitely a difference in mixture contol location between leaning at 3000' and leaning at 10000'.

N2212R said:
That 1" is gonna depends on altitude however. I don't have the verniers in mine, but there's definitely a difference in mixture contol location between leaning at 3000' and leaning at 10000'.

Ok, Being from the Mid-West, I spend most of my time under 5000', so I lean at 3000' and thats it. For you high flyers, what altitudes do you lean at, say every 3000' or every 2000' ? The highest I have been was 8500' and that was just for a short time. (It took longer to get there in the 150 than I stayed there)