MiroCopter

ebetancourt

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Ernie
I am seriously considering one of these. I plan to go look at one, may take someone with me. I am a helicopter pilot, not a maintenance person though. What should I be looking for in the construction, configuration, etc. that a history of pre-flighting other helicopters (mostly turbine, but some piston) would not provide a clue about?

RotoTrek LLC – Official Reseller of the Mirocopter SCH-2A

All generic helicopter jokes can be considered as previously heard. :p

Don't know anything about them but a friend has the MZ-202 on his plane. It seems to be a good engine but be aware that the ignitions require 12 volt power to them to run. His is an older engine and the newer versions might be different.

Fun looking toy though ...

What should I be looking for in the construction, configuration, etc. that a history of pre-flighting other helicopters (mostly turbine, but some piston) would not provide a clue about?
The coaxial side of the equation. It adds a level of complexity not even addressed on conventional setups. And being an ultralight would compel me to know everything about the flight control and drive mechanisms even before I'd get in it. While it might seem simple from afar there's a lot going on above your head more than what you are used to. Never heard of this model. Have you ever looked at the US based Composite Mosquito series?

Yes, and it is a consideration as well. I have looked at the systems and you pinpoint why I want to look at it in detail. Like the CompositFX helicopters it uses belts and I am wondering if the system is solid enough to keep then in sync, and what happens if that changes a little. They gain a lot by eliminating the tail rotor, but keeping the blades apart as you approach Vne (real, not regulatory for UL) in turbulence is another question.

Thanks for the response.