Minimum airplane for mission

MIFlyer

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
MIFlyer
So, as i'm a student pilot and deciding on rent vs buy for the long haul, i'm trying to determine what it would take to run my "typical" mission 6x per year.

Depart KRNT (Pilot 230 lbs)
Arrive 7W1 (add two passengers at 200 and 170 lbs)
Arrive KKLs (add fourth passenger at 150 lbs)
Arrive KRNT and not be out of fuel or over useful load.

In my area, you can rent 172s, SR20's and one Cessna T210, but nothing bigger.

Can i do this mission in the SR20, making useful load work. I am willing to get more fuel in KKLS if needed, but I don't think it would be needed.

If it helps, I could also go KRNT - KKLS - 7W1 - KRNT so that I burn more fuel before I add more people.

Living in the PNW, you're going to want a FIKI (booted) C210 and a instrument rating from someone who actually knows what the're taking about, like Spence at ATC in KBFI, you'll want to do your instrument in the 210 so you can experience real IFR/IMC ops in ice.

Last edited:
I second the 210. Those PAX are gonna be a tight fit in the SR-20 weight wise.

Would have to agree with 210 as the airplane of choice for your mission.

OK, so don't try to make it work on minimum fuel in an SR20. Going to the 210 as the rental option if I don't end up owning. that helps me weigh it out.

210 is $250/hr wet Tach.

Figure an Six (owned) would run me $175/hr wet tach and an Aztec owned would run me $150/hr wet tach (assuming throw away plane when engine goes). These are the variable costs, so i'd have to add all the fixed costs (tie down, insurance, maint) in to see if it would make sense to buy the bigger plane, or buy a little plane and rent the 210 when i need it.

Also to the point, owning would allow me to have a lot of familiarity in a single plane.

if it sounds like i'm trying to justify buying, you might be able to get a job on psychic hotline. :)