Memory Stick; adequate backup?

Let'sgoflying!

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Dave Taylor
Is a USB memory 'stick' a reasonably reliable backup for home computing?

Let's say you...have a "family member" that refuses to learn how to burn a CD or won't plug into the external HD you bought for that purpose. And every time there is a data loss, the usual angst follows. So you want to make the backup process easier - and plugging a memory stick in & copying files that way might be something that you could convince the F.M to do.

I see they are available over 16gB now.

I'd say it's better than nothing. If you end up doing the memory stick-work, why not just do the regular backups?

I'm no computer pro, but I'd trust CDs least of all. They seem more fragile than the other options.

Yeah, it's fine. I wouldn't trust a USB stick with my only copy of the files...but it'll do just fine as a backup copy. As a bonus you can also take it offsite.

You might also want to look into a service like Carbonite or JungleDisk. That way it'll make constant backups (on the internet) and you won't ever have to worry about a manual process.

I find memory sticks much more reliable than CDs- I only had one memory stick failure some years back.

If you're constantly online, you can also set up a Mozy account for a couple Gb to automatically back up daily. For unlimited personal use, I think it's five bucks a month.

Buy an external HD and Acronis 11. Tell Acronis to automatically make an incremental backup every week night at say, 8:00 p.m. or when the system is booted thereafter.

You can recover any version, before the virus or the corruption hit- just use the last know working version.

Stop buying single HD desktops. Always equip them with two drives just in case it's the HD gone south.

Desktop or laptop? Desktop, install another HDD and set it up for automatic backup.

Are you backing up just data (My Docs, My Pictures, etc) or doing an image?