Maybe I'm wrong...I don't know

I know i'm finally back. I got so burned out with training that I didn't want to see anything aviation until I was done. Thank God its finally over. We definitely gotta go fly again one of these days. This past weekend I wanted to do a bay tour and hit KHAF. I studied the charts a bit and came up with a plan B & C if ATC wasn't going to give me what I wanted...All that VFR planning gave me a headache so I just filed IFR :D Ended up getting a decent bay tour afterall with the vectors I was given.

I flew into HAF on Sunday, VFR over Alcatraz and then over the Golden Gate bridge and around by the cliffs (we hit some moderate to heavy turb along the beach there at 1,500 feet). We came in a little after 9:00 am. Beautiful day for flying. We were under the shelf, so no hassles from ATC. I did get vectored a bunch coming home (lots of bay tour traffic) around 3:00.

I'll take the other side:
Why not?

Try everything (within reason) at least once. Do it so when the time comes that you have no other recourse, you have to confidence and the experience to do it and survive.
Then do it again in every plane you fly.

BTW: my CFI made me practice tailwind takeoffs and landings. After all they include the data in the charts for that very reason.

Glenn

Last edited:
My POH doesn't specify a tailwind limitation . I will tell you this, if the airport is a place like TEB or similar, 5-7 kt tailwind, I will go with the flow. If it is Podunk Muni and the controller is half asleep and can't be bothered, IOW no good reason, I'll request a runway into the wind. I will also tell you a controller will not care if you end up off the RWY. You are PIC, and you accepted the landing clnc, if it was unsafe you should have refused the clnc, end of story.

Have to correct myself here. The POH does say to increase takeoff/landing distance 10 percent for 1.5 kits of tailwind up to 10 kits.