Lowering Cost of Ownership Tricks

DwayneSmithUSMC

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
DwayneSmithUSMC
Hey ladies and gents. For those of you who don't know I'm a relatively low time pilot who just bought my first plane. (Piper Cherokee 235) I was wondering what are some tips/tricks that you guys use to lower the cost of ownership. I'm already planning to do owner assisted annuals, and other routine maintenance. Just wondering what tips you guys have. Thanks.

Thanks for that great reply @Denver. Best advice ever. Now if anyone has a real answer I would appreciate it.

Slow down. Operate at 55-60% power. You can then run lean of peak without concern for damage. Do owner assisted annuals, take off panels, drain oil, remove filter, clean wheel bearings, etc. Change from full coverage to liability only. See if there is a private airport near you that will rent tie down or hangar.

Understand the difference between safety-critical, required, performance/envelope-enhancing, and "extra" items come repair time.

Know when fixing something early will prevent costlier problems later on, and what can be deferred.

Buy and use the Mogas STC if you have pure gas near you.

Don't prang the plane.

My plane is actually rated for 87 Octane aviation grade fuel. But no MOGAS stations near me. :-(

Hey ladies and gents. For those of you who don't know I'm a relatively low time pilot who just bought my first plane. (Piper Cherokee 235) I was wondering what are some tips/tricks that you guys use to lower the cost of ownership. I'm already planning to do owner assisted annuals, and other routine maintenance. Just wondering what tips you guys have. Thanks.

Run as lean as you can, don't try to get that last 5 knots out of the plane, run max MP with min RPM. Fuel is going to be your #1 cost most likely unless you bought a real POS. If you plan on keeping the plane for a good while, get a hangar unless you are in an area with ridiculous hangar fees or waiting lists.