Looking for some guidance...

overdrive148

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
overdrive148
I am 21 years old and hold a private pilot's license that I earned when I was 18 (first solo at 17). I am a current student at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University pursuing a BS in Professional Aeronautics, now Aeronautics since they renamed it. I did my first solo at 22 hours (changed instructors and aircraft halfway through training) and got my license at 69. I have 95 hours total and haven't flown for quite some time due to the cost of flying and college. My father has helped me along the way with financing both, but I chose to stick to college to do well and help keep costs down.

I have wanted to be a pilot for quite some time, although the exact way I've wanted to fly has changed over time. I tried AFROTC for a while and didn't quite think it suited me. I got a job through my father working under a subcontractor for the Navy making trucks drive themselves and made some pretty good money for the few months it lasted before things fell apart (not due to my actions) and I was kind of strung on with "two more weeks" repeatedly for 4-5 months. Anyway, I decided that I wanted to try taking things on my own and decided to move out 6 months ago. I live in Oklahoma now, working a job at Braum's (think restaurant/fast food/grocery) being near friends and learning to live since most of everything tended to be taken care of already at home financially (I helped everywhere I could when possible).

Now after having some taste of what it's like to work under these circumstances (and having my desire to achieve more than it bolstered -even- more than before
thumbs.gif
), I'm wondering what to do next. The FAFSA for financing laughs at me for aid (family situation) and dad suddenly got cold feet after I left home after saying he'd pay as long as I did well. I've gotten Deans list every possible time so far, 3.8+ GPA overall. And he is still trying to cut me off.