Looking for free legal advice on a non-aviation matter.

gismo

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
iGismo
I'm preparing to offer my parent's lake home in Michgan for weekly rentals this summer. I've installed a mooring for the renters to use if they bring a boat and want to require they sign a waiver indicating that said use is at their own risk. Can anyone suggest the appropriate language for a waiver like this.

The anchor consists of more than 250 lbs of steel with steel legs stuck into the hard lake bottom and attached to some heavy chain so it's unlikely it will get dragged but I don't want to get sued if someone's boat gets blown onto the shore in a bad storm.

My free legal advice to you would be to pay a Michigan attorney for legal advice.

Just put in the contract "This is not my mooring. use it at your own risk"

I am not a lawyer so that will only be $250

My free legal advice to you would be to pay a Michigan attorney for legal advice.

Tim is right. In fact, by virtue of your question( *I* don't want to be sued" ) my recommendation is that you talk to a Michigan attorney about a more global asset protection scheme for everything you're doing there. Short term rentals can breed all sorts of disputes....

Agree: ask a. Michigan counselor. And, talk to a good insurance broker.

I don't want to get sued

I think you mean "I don't want to lose a lawsuit." Obviously no amount of signed papers prevents attempts at lawsuits. What you want is some imposing barriers. Check to see what Nolo Press has published on rentals.

Local chamber of commerce might have something for you. You shouldn't need a lawyer just to rent out a piece of property, it isn't rocket surgery. Word to the wise, look carefully at your tenants. They'll be the difference between a profitable experience and a disaster.

As my old lawyer buddy said, "Free legal advice is worth exactly what you paid for it."

Insurance.