Looking for CFI options in Atlanta (KRYY or KPDK)

DavidATL

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
SportATL
I'm a brand new student looking for options going for my PPL. I have done two discovery flights with two different instructors, schools, and airports (listed above) and while I had a blast with both I'm looking for some other options.

If I don't yet own a plane is a flight school really the only way to go?

If it's possible, are there any independent high-time CFIs in the area that are interested in teaching a dedicated learner with a technical background? I'd like to learn with my hands and feet, steam gauges and sight pictures before we start adding on too much technology. I'm looking to put in a few hours a day, 2-3 days a week. Prefer to fly out of RYY but I can make PDK work.

Thanks for reading!

I'll be watching this thread as well. I took a Discovery flight with Centennial Aviation Academy- and they were great. I've traded emails with a few other schools at the field (all PDK). Interested to see what folks on the board recommend. Good luck to you! I am still trying to justify committing the $$ and time to getting a PPL, and then what?

Have also been considering buying a plane and learning in it. Good idea? Terrible idea? Would it be crazy to do it in a tailwheel?

Would love to buy someone local a coffee/beer and pick your brain for a bit if you're up for it.

You haven't said where you live. There is Advanced Aviation at PDK and he has a location at KLZU. Bruce is a good guy and runs a good clean business. There is a club at KLZU, AeroVentures, LTD (flylzu.com) that has 2 172's and a 150. They can do training and have several CFI and CFII's in the club. They do training for my youth group. The have "associate members" that pay a per year fee of something like $250 and then a monthly fee plus the hourly on the planes, which is a wet fee. I know the 150 rents for $75hr.