Logging Instrument Time

2nd505th

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
2nd505th
As a student I'm almost at the required 15 hours with a CFII. I know I could continue this route to 40 hours and feel likely that I will need at least another 10 with a CFII. But how to I acquire the rest, barring a flight simulator?

1) Does it requires a instrument rated safety pilot?
2) A VFR safety pilot - but we never file an IFR plan - so does it count?

Any suggestions? The thought was to try to accelerate and reduce some costs.

Appreciate any suggested paths.

you need be wearing foggles, flight condition can be VMC as long as there is a safety pilot

As a student I'm almost at the required 15 hours with a CFII. I know I could continue this route to 40 hours and feel likely that I will need at least another 10 with a CFII. But how to I acquire the rest, barring a flight simulator?

I did all 40(.2) with a CFII. The safety pilot does not need to be instrument rated, and you don't need to fly the hours with a safety pilot under IFR. Just go practice with a view limiting device on AND a safety pilot.

I still lobby for all the hours with a CFII. He make me work HARD once I could fly under the hood.

Last edited:

A. Safety pilot does not have to be instrument rated. Anyone with a valid pilot certificate and medical will do (unless they ever get around to updated the reg for basicmed).

B. You can't file IFR unless at least one of you is instrument rated. Hood time under VFR works just fine.

C. Given you are currently being taught by a CFII, I would highly recommend you turn to your CFII for questions about your training versus some guy on the internet. Unless of course you don't trust your CFII, in which case I'd find a new one.