Logbook

U

Unregistered

Hey everyone, posting this here because frankly, I do not know where else to post it. I am still a fairly new pilot, 200 hours total time (mostly helicopter and tailwheel asel). My logbook has been in the hands of many instructors, and some of them insist that they themselves fill in the entry. Over the past couple of years my logbook (brief as it may be) has become rather messy and crowded, mostly due to instructors, but I have made mistakes as well. I have also flown many types of aircraft and the logbook was just too small to record it all.

My girlfriend just bought me a nice Jeppesen Professional Logbook and a nice leather cover because I do intend on making aviation my career. I would like to transfer my time from my previous logbook (cheap vinyl starter logbook) into my new logbook, but I have questions.

For starters, I understand that a logbook is to be treated as a legal document, and should never be messy in the first place, I have learned my lesson, and I no longer allow instructors to touch my logbook other than a signature. As I prepare for my instrument, commercial, and CFI, I would like to have a nice logbook to present to employers. Can I do this? I understand my original vinyl logbook has all of my official endorsements, but can I not just transfer them to the new log (minus signatures)?? It's not like I never received the training, I am simply making a well presented backup and I intend on storing my original logbook is a very safe place, as well as online. Could I contact my CFI's and get them to endorse the copies? I really do not know how this works.

I just don't know what I can/should do, vs. what an employer might think and I am very hesitant to copy and endorsement at this point. Any help is greatly appreciated.