Logbook Entries: Pen or Pencil?

FlyRod

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Fly Rod
Is there a standard for logbook entries? Or, is it my choice to use pen or pencil?

If I must use a pen, what color should the ink be? Thank you.

I reckon the entries should be pen. I'm a student, so when I do solo entries I do it in light pencil and then once my instructor says they're good, I trace in black ink. I do light pencil because if I make a mistake, the eraser marks aren't that visible. Tons of eraser marks in a logbook do not look good.

Black pen, the same one. I keep it with the logbook.

<pokes bear> in the plane with me. :eek: The horror!

Daytime - black ink
Nightime - red ink
Combat - green ink

:)

Thank you, Pete. While doing some research, it seems it doesn't really matter unless you plan on flying professionally. If you do plan to fly professionally, it seems black ink is preferred. But, from what I've read so far, the FAA doesn't define a standard, even for professional pilots:

§ 61.51 Pilot logbooks.

(a) Training time and aeronautical experience. Each person must document and record the following time in a manner acceptable to the Administrator:

That "manner" is not defined. What is acceptable?

Source:

http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/tex...v8&view=text&node=14:2.0.1.1.2.1.1.31&idno=14

I found an error in my logbook. For several weeks afterward, I would only write in pencil, then do another logbook audit and after confirming accuracy, trace in Pen. Black pen, but I don't get hung up on using blue.

I'm back to using pen, but think about it every once in awhile.

Pilots are special people. Who else would think of such things?

electronic :D