Load Factors, Maneuvering Speeds and Weight

Landshark

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
LongWayHome
This is something I have always wondered about since I started training and learned that maneuvering speed went up as weight increased. That was the reverse of what I expected. Since the airplane is heavier, I thought there should be more stress on the wing root or aircraft structure for a given load factor(g). Here are a few limitations for my particular airplane, a 1979 Cessna 152.

Maneuvering speed at 1350 lbs = 93 KIAS
.............................at 1670 lbs = 104 KIAS
Flight load factor (flaps up) ......= +4.4g

My first assumption is that the max load factor of 4.4g is the same at all flying weights.

I will calculate the lift necessary to produce 4.4g at both the lower and max weight.

1350 lbs X 4.4g = 5940 lbs of lift
1670 lbs X 4.4g = 7348 lbs of lift

At a flying weight of 1350 lbs, the wings must produce (and the airframe must withstand) 5940 lbs of lift to generate 4.4g. Any more lift than that would damage something.

But at a flying weight of 1670 lbs, the aircraft structure and wing root have no problem withstanding 7348 lbs of lift.

Why is that so? Where is the flaw in my understanding?

Last edited:
Maneuvering speeds are based on stalling the airplane before exceeding the design G limits. A heavier airplane will stall sooner (its stall speed is higher) and unload the wing. Remember that stall speed rises with increasing load factor; it goes up by the square root of the increase in load factor. A 2G maneuver will increase stall speed by 41%, 1.41 being the square root of 2.

It actually goes up by the square root of load. That is, load factor * gross weight. For a given weight, it does behave as sqrt(load factor), but we're comparing two different weights.

Take that bit into account, and the numbers make a lot more sense (sqrt(1350/1670) is real close to 93/104, neglecting the difference between CAS and IAS).