Living a Slightly Different Dream... (Long)

Abram

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Abram
At the front end, I need to confess that this thread is a shameless take off on LD Jones’s fantastic thread, but I really wanted to share my story with the group in the hopes that some of you will be inspired.

My background is that of an accountant and lawyer, but I started a Human Resources Outsourcing company about 25 years ago and have been working on growing it and my industry since then.

Although I have been flying for over thirty years, for the last twenty years or so, I was flying to support my business and for personal travel. I had my Private Pilot Certificate along with Instrument and Multi-Engine Ratings but never saw the need to go further because I had no intention of requiring anything more. I was always active in charitable flying, doing trips for Angel Flight, Challenge Air for Kids and Friends, Vital Flight and lots of Veterans Airlifts, but despite always dreaming of doing it, I never flew professionally.

Over the years, I went from owning and operating two Piper Aztecs and a Piper Saratoga, which were owned with partners. Around 2005 or so, I purchased a Piper Meridian which I owned and operated on my own. As much as I loved the Meridian, I decided that my mission had changed a bit and I needed something a bit faster and that could carry more. After looking at all the options, I settled on an Eclipse. I went about finding the right airplane, purchasing it and doing all of the training required for the Type Rating.