Learning new avionics

4RNB

Line Up and Wait
PoA Supporter
Display Name

Display name:
4RNB
Situation: Completion of avionics upgrade is hopefully around the corner. (G3x, 750 GPS, gfc 500 AP)

Background: I am a 250 ish hr pilot. Instrument rated in August 2022, plane then immediately in to avionics shop. Only some chair flying in FAA legal sim, which might keep my head in the game a bit, legal, but I'll make no claim of proficiency. The bulk of my flying has been in one plane in one configuration. I've never had to adjust to other planes.

Assessment: I need to be careful in new plane, especially in marginal flight conditions.

Help!

I took a garmin class last fall, but not applied anything. My plan as my avionics finish up is to watch available classes online. I'd like to develop my own checklists to focus on. The instrument ACS can serve as a nice guide to go through, along with any ground tests in the equipment manuals. I do not know of GPU availability so much of this will be done in the air. I'd like help on things to focus on. I will likely hire a CFI to help.

Any thoughts on what to make sure I learn? I don't know what I don't know.

My thoughts:
Programming all flavors of approaches, SIDS/STARS, holds. Buttonology of go arounds both with and without TOGA.
Changing radios manually and using tech.
Transponder programming.
PFD-changing screens for various phases of flight.
Setting up preferred engine monitoring and alarms
Changing flight plan mid air
Changing heading and altitude while using AP, where can it be done from and making sure it happens.
The autopilot is what most concerns me. I need to develop a much better understanding of various modes.

What else? Thank you.

Congratulations, that is a top notch panel and you're going to love it!