Laptop Recomendation

Discussion in 'Hangar Talk' started by Groundpounder, Apr 23, 2021.

  1. weilke

    weilke Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    14,403
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    weilke
    Good thing Dell spun off Sonicwall. Back to the old level of support ;-)
     
  2. MarkH

    MarkH Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Messages:
    459
    Location:
    Mojave Desert
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MarkH
    Check out the Thinkpad T14. Thinkpads tend to hold on to ports a little longer than most, they are well built and those specs should hit the $1300 mark
     
  3. weilke

    weilke Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    14,403
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    weilke
    Make sure the macbook air with its on-chip graphics is able to drive the big monitor with a performance that is satisfactory.
     
  4. Groundpounder

    Groundpounder Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,152
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Heywood Jablowme
    You'll miss your page up/down buttons.
     
  5. PaulS

    PaulS Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    11,112
    Location:
    New England
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    PaulS
    I love touchscreen pcs.
     
  6. DaleB

    DaleB En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,916
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DaleB
    Not with the big keyboard I’d be using 95% of the time. I did notice while playing around with one in a store that it was a little annoying not to have them on the laptop keyboard. A little annoying, not a show stopper.
     
  7. MarkH

    MarkH Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Messages:
    459
    Location:
    Mojave Desert
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MarkH
    I did exactly that, and I love it and hate it.

    I'm not a Windows user for my home machines(I have been running Ubuntu Linux for a decade), but Mac OS is still a major annoyance. Having said that, I am willing to put up with Mac OS because it means that I just don't run out of battery life.

    I bought a top of the line Air, and while I wish I could install Ubuntu on it, my biggest regret is the "top of the line" part. Mine has 8 graphics cores and 16 gb ram. I was planning on doing the thermal pad mod, but when I attempted it I discovered that they place a (weaker) thermal pad on the graphics cores on the 8 core model. Because of that, I was only able to do half the mod (I wanted it removable in case of a warranty claim). With the thermal pad mod, the 7 graphics cores see similar performance to mine with factory graphics cooling. I have a Windows computer that I was issued for work with 32GB RAM, and it isn't enough, but based on the performance I am seeing with the M1 Chip, I am confident 8GB would be enough (running an x86 version of Eagle, I would still expect 16gb would be worthwhile, but for most 8GB + $200 in your pocket would be a better solution).

    Things to keep in mind, running Rosetta 2 (x86_64 compatibility) requires extra RAM, but native ARM programs will manage RAM much better vs x86_64 programs running on x86_64 hardware. This really pays off for me since I run mostly open source software, so I am not using many non-native tools.

    Also, battery life will change the way you work in 2 big ways. 1) I never realized how much I stressed about battery until I just didn't. 2) On modern x86_64 hardware, there is a significant performance penalty when unplugged, with the M1 chips that just does not happen. So instead of putting off CPU intensive things until you have power, you just do them as the time comes. It is a significantly more natural workflow that improves productivity.

    I can't wait until more manufacturers can offer power user level ARM laptops so I can go back to Ubuntu, but for now, even with the level of dislike I have for Mac OS, the M1 chips make putting up with Mac OS worth the frustration.
     
  8. DaleB

    DaleB En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,916
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DaleB
    It’s the battery life and performance while running native apps I’m mostly looking for. Almost everything I will be using is open source, other than the PIC compiler. I also want to spend a lot more time playing with Python and things. Yes, I can do all of that with Windows.

    None of the current Airs have over 8GB of RAM. I’m debating whether to pop the extra couple hundred for double the disk and an extra GPU core... probably worth it. But at this stage I’m in the “thinking about” stage, to coin a phrase.
     
  9. Spring Ford

    Spring Ford Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    498
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    SpringFord
    If you wanted you could probably have a couple of desktop icons, ON and OFF.

    Likely have to Run As Administrator and press the confirmation button but there may be a way round that.

    https://www.quora.com/How-do-you-disable-a-laptop-touch-screen-using-CMD
     
  10. MarkH

    MarkH Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Messages:
    459
    Location:
    Mojave Desert
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MarkH
    If ordering through Apple, all of the Airs can be configured with 16GB of RAM. But most resellers are not stocking the 7 GPU core version with 16 GB.
     
  11. asicer

    asicer Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    6,304
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    You should spend those 6 months replacing your USB-A cables and peripherals with USB-C. You'll be happier for it in the long run.
     
  12. Huckster79

    Huckster79 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    1,618
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Huckster79
    Ur plain nuts if you don’t want a Mac! :)
    Still using my 2013 model- it’s as fast and smooth as the day it was new- had never had that with a windows unit...
     
  13. Groundpounder

    Groundpounder Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,152
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Heywood Jablowme
    There are some things, like the Garmin nav database updater, that can only run on USB-A.....I think. You raise a good point, might be worthwhile to look into.

    Had a Macbook Air for two years, good hardware, and Mac OS was ok, but I remember being frustrated by so many "you can't do that with a mac" moments that I went back to windows. Windows 10 has been flawless for me.
     
  14. Bob Noel

    Bob Noel Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    15,510
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bob Noel
    A few years back there was a guy at work that claimed that a mac couldn't do 90% of what he needed done (e.g., a utility for this or that)... partially true, but the rest of the story is most of the stuff he claimed he needed to run weren't needed on the mac. His claim was exaggerated crap - he should have just pointed at the 2 software packages that he needed to use which were only available for the window platform (with no suitable alternative for a mac platform).
     
  15. wsuffa

    wsuffa Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,367
    Location:
    DC Suburbs
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bill S.
    I've got some that the Mac will do, and some that it won't. For example, some engineering and antenna design software that I have just plain won't work on Mac. Problems with some of the Jepp stuff, too (though that may have changed). But most of the office and photo stuff I use work fine on the Mac. Some of the graphics stuff is better on the mac.

    Comes down to a good needs analysis. And a willingness to put up with the crap that each of the two companies forces you to accept.
     
  16. Sac Arrow

    Sac Arrow Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    17,764
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bro do you even lift
    My needs are meager - MS Office and web browsing are 99.9% of what I use. I can to both on a Mac easy enough. No, strike that, not easy at all. I either have to use Libre Office, which isn't compatible with MS Office for advanced formatting features and not as user friendly, or a Mac ported version of MS Office, which by all accounts is clunky. And then there are the little things - grabbing windows, absence of the right click functionality, a very difficult to understand "Finder" file manager, etc... which all added up, makes me very unproductive using a Mac.

    We had a Macbook Pro once. Maybe it was an Air, I don't remember. It was redeemed from Cathay Pacific mileage points. The case was solid. The keyboard wasn't. After about a year, the Q broke. I know people that like Macs really like them a lot, but I sure don't get it.
     
  17. DaleB

    DaleB En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,916
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DaleB
    Actually... looks like I pretty much won't at all. A quick Google hunt tells me that two fingers on teh touchpad will scroll web pages (hadn't thought to try that), and the cursor keys double as PgUp/PgDn/Home/End keys using the Fn key to shift their functions. No big deal.

    Yeah. I've been hearing that 8GB is more than enough... and it's $150 less at Costco for the 8/8/8/512GB version. I don't know what Apple's return policy is, but Costco will let me return it if I decide I've made a terrible mistake.
     
    MarkH likes this.
  18. Bob Noel

    Bob Noel Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    15,510
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bob Noel
    THIS
     
  19. Juliet Hotel

    Juliet Hotel Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    2,494
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Juliet Hotel
    My laptop software needs are pretty generic, MS Office, Photoshop/Premiere, Fusion 360 etc. My wife uses an iphone and ipad in addition to her Air but my Macbook is my only idevice.

    As I said earlier though, I used to go through laptops about every 2-3 years, so about 4 new units every 10 years. My first Macbook cost me about double what I would typically spend on a PC laptop and it lasted me 10 years. We've had similar results buying Macbook Air's for my wife. They last us longer so they end up costing less over time. And that doesn't take resale into account at all. A quick check of Ebay shows 2015 Macbook Pros are listed for about $400-$500. I haven't looked so I could be wrong but I suspect you'd be hard pressed to get anywhere close to $400 for most 2015 Windows laptops these days.
     
  20. Juliet Hotel

    Juliet Hotel Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    2,494
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Juliet Hotel
    How long ago was that? I bought my first Mac around 2006 or so. I bought just to learn the OS it because I was running into them in the field and needed to know my way around them. Like you, I ran into a ton of 'you can't do that' moments back then. I always had other PC's around so it was always do whatever I needed even if the Mac couldn't do it. But I honestly can't remember the last time I ran into a you can't do that on a mac issue. But my software needs are pretty generic so YMMV.
     
  21. SoonerAviator

    SoonerAviator Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    6,362
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    SoonerAviator
    I've never had a laptop (or desktop) that needed to be replaced every 2-3 years, so I can't even fathom that scenario lol. I've had 3 desktop computers since 2001, 1 HP Pavillion, 1 Dell Optiplex refurb, and 1 Dell XPS (currently 2 years old). I got 8-10 years out of them as personal computers for the same basic stuff (less PS/Premiere) and had no issues until they were so long in the tooth that the software was the limiting factor more than anything. My work laptops, which still had mostly MS Office (Excel/Access/Powerpoint) as the primary needs in addition to accounting software clients (not particularly resource intensive), were doing just fine for each 5 year stint until they were upgraded. I even made a request with one of them that I keep it until IT absolutely had to retire it solely because "it just worked" and I didn't want to deal with any teething problems by moving to newer OS and such. I honestly don't feel that any computer that came with Windows 10 is really at risk of needing to be upgraded on a 2-3yr timespan. I can understand those who had fits with Vista/Windows 8/etc. There's nothing wrong with an iDevice, I just can't justify paying the Apple-tax to do the same stuff I do on the Windows box, when my experience has been that opposite of yours.
     
  22. Juliet Hotel

    Juliet Hotel Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    2,494
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Juliet Hotel
    Desktops sure. I tend to replace or upgrade them about once every 5-10 years. But I never got that kind of longevity out of a laptop. Maybe I'm just hard on the hardware. Shrug.
     
  23. SoonerAviator

    SoonerAviator Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    6,362
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    SoonerAviator
    Gotta stay off of the adult websites, lol.
     
    Juliet Hotel likes this.
  24. wsuffa

    wsuffa Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,367
    Location:
    DC Suburbs
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bill S.
    Ya, but I already moved on.
     
  25. Groundpounder

    Groundpounder Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,152
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Heywood Jablowme
  26. kayoh190

    kayoh190 Administrator Management Council Member PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,670
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Kayoh@190
    Interesting. Certainly light and well priced. One issue I see is the 13" version only comes with 8GB of RAM and I don't see any way to bump it higher. I tend to think 16GB is the baseline these days.
     
  27. Groundpounder

    Groundpounder Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,152
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Heywood Jablowme
    Saw that as well. The flippy version, which I said I didn't want, comes with 16gb of ram, but loses the USB-A. Hmmmm....
     
  28. Groundpounder

    Groundpounder Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,152
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Heywood Jablowme
    While I didn't buy a Mac, I bought exactly what I said I didn't want. I placed an order for a Samsung Galaxy Book Pro 360. It is flippy and it doesn't have a USB-A port. Sometimes I don't understand myself....

    But they have a 15 day money back return policy, so if I don't like it, I will send it back.

    Looks like they are planning on having an almost Apple level of integration with their handheld devices. I will be curious to see how it will sync with my non-Samsung android.
     
  29. kayoh190

    kayoh190 Administrator Management Council Member PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,670
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Kayoh@190
    Cool - let us know what you think! I wasn't aware of the Samsung options until you mentioned them.
     
  30. Groundpounder

    Groundpounder Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,152
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Heywood Jablowme
    Will do! I didn't really know what they offered either until a youtube channel I follow posted a video about the new Samsung products. Good timing.