Laptop Hotel Wifi Issues

Discussion in 'Technical Corner' started by ARFlyer, Feb 11, 2017.

  1. ARFlyer

    ARFlyer Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    2,353
    Location:
    Central AR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    ARFlyer
    I'm about ready to throw my laptop through the window. Every few hours the internet will stop working and say "No Internet, Open" under the wifi symbol. While my iPhone and two iPads stay connected and running 24/7.

    Ipconfig is giving me the dreaded 169. Address. I've checked the config for the wifi and it's listed for automatic IP gathering.

    This will go on for about two hours then mysteriously start working again. The hotel says they aren't having any issues reported to them besides myself.

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. Joey4420

    Joey4420 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Cincinnati Ohio
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Joey4420
    Try deactivating your wireless NIC, reboot, then reactivate this may help. Normally for this I would look for an updated driver from the manufacture or add a USB wireless card.
     
  3. rtk11

    rtk11 Line Up and Wait PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    502
    Location:
    Southern California
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    rtk
    Sometimes hotel wifi can be spotty and signal drop/loss isn't handled well by your NIC. (Temporary loss of signal and your NIC might drop the connection whereas your Apple products may continue to poll for the SSID for a longer period) Hard reboot may work, otherwise see if there's an ethernet connection in your hotel room. If not, consider tethering to your iPad or iPhone.
     
  4. Palmpilot

    Palmpilot Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    12,635
    Location:
    PUDBY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Richard Palm
    My current notebook computer drops the connection to my home wifi several times a week. Turning off the wifi on the notebook and turning it back on restores the connection. Fortunately, there's a hotkey for that. None of my other devices have this problem.
     
  5. ARFlyer

    ARFlyer Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    2,353
    Location:
    Central AR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    ARFlyer
    Ok I'll try those suggestions and see if it helps.

    I thought you could only tether for a cellular data connection?
     
  6. mscard88

    mscard88 Ejection Handle Pulled

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    10,397
    Location:
    Alabama
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mark
    WTF you watching porn in stereo or sumptin?
     
    ARFlyer likes this.
  7. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,166
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    My tablet had problems for a while, but only at home. My router has two wifi channels on it. My tablet was configured to connect to whichever was the strongest signal. Problem was, they were both very close to the same signal strength so it was continually switching between the two.
     
  8. BigBadLou

    BigBadLou En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    3,852
    Location:
    TX - the friendliest state
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Lou
    The WiFi on my Win7 work laptop will also die every few days out of the blue. Need to reboot Windblows and it works fine again.
    I have been told by multiple IT people: "it's normal".
    Moral of the story: using Microshit (or crApple) SW is like driving a Kia, I should have known better before getting it but now are stuck with it. So I shut up and get used to it. Is it NOT going to get better, no matter how much they lie to us. (duh)
     
  9. John221us

    John221us En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,591
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    John
    Sometimes hotels will limit the number of devices you can connect with a given room number. I have run into that. Sometimes you can talk the fron desk into giving you an alternate code, that doesn't restrict that.
     
  10. ARFlyer

    ARFlyer Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    2,353
    Location:
    Central AR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    ARFlyer
    Hahaha I haven't thought of that. One iPad is my personal one and other is the work EFB.

    I try to limit my porn to my personal iPad. Don't want to be that guy who racked up 20GB of cellular data watching HD porn on the company EFB.... :eek:o_O
     
    mscard88 likes this.
  11. ARFlyer

    ARFlyer Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    2,353
    Location:
    Central AR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    ARFlyer
    I'm starting to think it's the hotel's wifi. My iPhone won't connect to the wifi tonight. I noticed earlier today after class that it was dropping out every few minutes.

    Good ol' USA internet!!
     
  12. Larry in TN

    Larry in TN Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    505
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Larry in TN
    Try moving to another location in the hotel, far enough so that you'll be on a different access point, and see if the problem follows you.
     
  13. Everskyward

    Everskyward Administrator Management Council Member PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    30,672
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Everskyward
    My experience with hotel wifi is that is never fast and sometimes awful. It also depends on your distance from the access point.
     
  14. kayoh190

    kayoh190 Pattern Altitude PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,547
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Kayoh@190
    Yeah, there's a reason we have a rule at work prohibiting us from doing EFB database updates while at the hotel. Too many bad experiences, I guess.