Landing Laws California

Scarpydooooo

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
scarpydooooo
Im new to the thread and couldn't find the answer i was looking for on google.

If i owned a home in los angeles could i land my plane there?? Say i had 35 acres in Malibu all level after some moving of dirt....

If not, is there areas in Ca were I could land my plane?

Do people ever land jets on private residence as well, like out in the country...

thanks

Im new to the thread and couldn't find the answer i was looking for on google.

If i owned a home in los angeles could i land my plane there?? Say i had 35 acres in Malibu all level after some moving of dirt....

If not, is there areas in Ca were I could land my plane?

Do people ever land jets on private residence as well, like out in the country...

thanks

First off..... Welcome to POA..

In alot of states landing on private property in a non issue, I know of several places they land jets, like in Fla, Texas, Wyoming and other states... I have a private airport on my ranch and I can bring anything in I want. In California ,you have to deal with all the bizzare laws and my guess is you are SOL... IMHO.

If you can afford 35 acres in Malibu, I suppose you can get away with what ever you want ;) You might p**s off a neighbor or two, though. Private strips are pretty common, but primarily in rural areas. There are undoubtedly some local zoning codes and approvals you will need to deal with (and you probably won't be successful in Malibu), but the FAA side of it shouldn't be too difficult, you just need to file a form, I believe.

Here is California's official guidance:
http://www.dot.ca.gov/hq/planning/aeronaut/landuse.html