Landing and eating mainly

pilotod

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
eyeflying
I'm new to flying and want to land at airports with restaurants. I'm renting a 172 . It seems like the restaurants should be able to answer if I get charged something for parking. I called Perfect Landings (at KAPA) and they had to call an FBO to see if I would get charged. It also seems like the restaurants should have some parking spaces for the little planes. I'm not interested in buying gas or any other services. I'm used to driving a car to a restaurant and that's the only perspective that I have right now.

I don't know what to expect from airports and FBO's especially since my own FBO can't give me a straight answer when I present a similar question to them. I want to feel confident (if possible) that I'll know what I'm "using" compared to what they think I should pay and what kind of leg I have to stand on if I came only to spend money at the airport restaurant.

The next question is about FBO's and using their courtesy car. Is there some expectation they have about me purchasing fuel or getting some service? Is there a quantity that qualifies? What about places that are self-serve? If I bought fuel do they need to see the receipt to prove I'm worthy of borrowing their courtesy car? Do you ask them straight up how to get the courtesy car or is this where they need to see what you spend before they can answer that question? If I want to fly to a smaller airport and park for 4 hours and borrow their car to go to an evening sports game what would I expect them to tell me (if I wanted to borrow their car)? Do I speak to the owner to get a better response or to the staff?

Now that I have a license I just don't know enough to go places because I don't want to get ripped off. I'll pay for what I owe but I don't know the unspoken rules.