KX-155 Refurbishment, Replace??

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by sourdough44, Nov 10, 2016.

  1. sourdough44

    sourdough44 Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WI Flyer
    I'm kinda looking into getting this radio to a higher level, or replace. I'm kinda looking at sliding something into the existing tray?

    Here are my main issues, 1st the screen is buggered up, lights half out. I have to almost count the clicks to get to the correct freq, kinda a pain in a busy environment.

    It takes a long time to warm up, 5 minutes or so before it works as advertised.

    Then after all is said & done, ATC says 'loud & clear' when I do a radio check. This has G/S and I think is a KX-155, USA made. My 2nd radio is an old KX-175, not any better.

    Do they still make new KX-155s? I guess I may think more about the ADS-B upgrades? GTN-650 or so?? Will a KX-165 slide in? I'm not ready for immediate action, but I can see some upgrade in a few months. Just looking for ideas.
     
  2. ettsn

    ettsn Pre-takeoff checklist PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    ettsn
  3. sourdough44

    sourdough44 Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WI Flyer
    I looked over my KX-155 today. It does look a little played out. I think I need more than just a refurbishment. I have a few more things in the hopper, then on to the radio.
     
  4. GRG55

    GRG55 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,550
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Aztec Flyer
    The gas discharge displays in the King radios is a known problem. Both the 155 and 165 suffer from that. King apparently has an LED fix for the gas discharge display, but it ain't cheap - not much less than the price used KX-155s are going for. If you have more than display problems with the radio I suspect your lowest cost solution is to find a used King 155 and swap it. They are still pretty popular, especially as a Comm 2 to a Garmin nav/comm/gps.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2016
  5. Bill Jennings

    Bill Jennings Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    7,424
    Location:
    Southeast Tennessee
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bill Jennings
    Won't hurt to give these guys a call for a quote: http://www.butleravionics.com/

    We've had them refurb autopilot servos, the HSI gyro, and a KY 197. Pricing was reasonable and the work was done correctly and on time. I'll happily go to them next time for King refurb work.
     
  6. sourdough44

    sourdough44 Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WI Flyer
    I flew the plane to VT the other day, got a little more used to the radio. The LED readout would come & go with how readable it was, sometimes not to bad. ATC never has any complaint with the radio quality. I think for the near term I'll just make do the way it is.

    I would hate to spend the $$ on a radio with an unknown background. Some look like they may be in questionable condition.
     
  7. el con

    el con Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    Ada Mi.
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    The Flied Piper
    I have a KX125 and am really happy with it, not sure if they slide in to replace. Display a lot more reliable.
     
  8. sourdough44

    sourdough44 Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WI Flyer
    Well, I decided to go one round with a simple swap out. This 'new' radio has a much newer serial number with an excellent display. I just need a dependable radio to get me down the road a bit.

    We'll see how this goes. Once in place I'll sell my older 155 with the so-so display.
     
    GRG55 and denverpilot like this.
  9. Baron62

    Baron62 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Baron62
    You can clean the display connector to get all the display numbers to display correctly. Just did it on mine and it worked like a champ. google and you will find details. it is easy.
     
    denverpilot likes this.
  10. sourdough44

    sourdough44 Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WI Flyer
    I did try the 'eraser' cleaning method, no real change. With slow ops freq changes I could figure out the led screen, just didn't want to have to do it all the time.
     
  11. weirdjim

    weirdjim En-Route

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,865
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA (KGOO)
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    weirdjim
    I'm still looking for a CHEAP 155 so that I can phiddle phart with the display to see if I can mod it to LEDs. If I can, I'll sell a kit for not a lot of money.

    Jim
     
  12. unsafervguy

    unsafervguy Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    640
    Location:
    Sw florida
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    bob
    Jim, I have one that died, it's at the radio shop now, if they say is not economically worth fixing I will send it to you.

    Bob
     
    denverpilot likes this.
  13. weirdjim

    weirdjim En-Route

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,865
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA (KGOO)
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    weirdjim
    I'm happy to buy it, pay the postage, whatever you think is fair.

    Now the question is ... does anybody have a source for a schematic or even better the service manual for this turkey so I can see how they drove the display in the first place. Otherwise I'm going to have to use the Polish Mine Detector method of discovery.

    Jim
     
    denverpilot likes this.
  14. jsstevens

    jsstevens En-Route

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,732
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    jsstevens
    That made me laugh out loud. Been there, done that.

    John
     
  15. winrose46

    winrose46 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Wheaton
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Gene
    last year I replace both displays on my C172. When I did my avionics upgrade to my planes I moved the Garmin 430 to the Cessna and one of the 155 to the bonanza. I also placed my PSI audio panel into the Cessna. I wanted to put the GDL 88 from the bonanza to the Cessna; however, the cost of time was to great and I put the L3 ADS_B transponder into the Cessna. None note for the L3, the voice annunciation of traffic was $700 plus installation. Beware that it is useless without voice traffic to permit you to keep your eyeballs outside.
     
  16. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    6,209
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    Holy smokes, that had to be near $10k then for parts and labor just for that one radio.