JFK Airspace Question

KE5BM

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Ross
Full disclosure, this might be a dumb question but I have no experience yet in Class B airspaces.

I'm building a flight plan from Massachusetts to the Eastern Shore of Virginia. I'd like to use the JFK VOR as one of my nav points. More specifically, I want to go BDR to KEEPM and follow V16 through JFK's airspace. The Bravo airspace around NYC is up to 7,000. So, if I chose a cruise altitude of 6500 feet, for example what are the chances I'd be allowed to transit the Bravo at that altitude or would they prefer I climb above and over the top? I'd have a flight plan open and flight following for this trip.

I agree with groundpounder. The NYC bravo is only up to 7000. Pretty easy to go over the top if weather permits. Another option would be to do the Hudson River exclusion. I keep saying I’m going to do that on one of my trips, but I’m usually cruising at 9.5-10.5, so I don’t want to descend and climb again.

I do this all the time. From the north go to 6500 from the south I go to 5500 and they let you in everytime. They are busy and quick on the radio. Listen carefully and reply quickly. Have fun.

Getting a Bravo to fly over JFK at 6500 along your route of flight is never an issue and the NY Tracon controllers are awesome. Whatever you do, don’t avoid talking to ATC just because you decide to go to >7,000. There is a ton of arrivals and departures that will eventually be in conflict with you regardless of whether you’re inside the bravo or above it. Good luck!

I do this all the time. From the north go to 6500 from the south I go to 5500 and they let you in everytime. They are busy and quick on the radio. Listen carefully and reply quickly. Have fun.
This will work well.
Last time I came back home I flew over the top and there was no vectoring, only had to change frequency about forty times.

Its also a good excuse to do the Hudson corridor.