Jacobson Flare

Stingray Don

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Stingray Don
Has anyone else tried this? I had never heard of this landing technique and just stumbled across it. I had an old iTunes gift card gathering dust so I downloaded the app and studied the material. I went out this morning and practiced some landings using this method. I have to say my landings were more consistent. I wish I would have had this when I was a student pilot!

http://www.jacobsonflare.com/

The link (on mobile at least) takes one to a sales site with no information about the technique.

So being the naturally curious sort and skeptical of anything that claims to teach flying techniques that is stuck behind a pay-wall, I Googled.

Lots of astroturfing of the technique with vague references by CFIs mostly associated with one particular seller of training materials online and very little real-world leakage of what normal pilots think of it.

But beyond that, it appears it's simply applied geometry. Something someone could calculate with a spreadsheet in an hour or so.

Nothing wrong with applying hard numbers to any phase of flying, but at least one CFI reviewed the concepts and mentioned a big problem - not all runways have painted visual markers at known distances.

Interestingly that CFI was also somehow loosely associated with the sales company. And he didn't mention the biggest problem: The technique assumes a specific angle for the glide path.

One has to set up a specific power setting and *ground* speed to nail that desired glide path and a solid headwind will blow the technique all to hell. Not by much, which probably leads to why the few CFI reviews found, indicate that students get a "7 out of 10" using the technique. But they say it's consistent.

Makes sense.