Is this corrosion

2nd505th

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
2nd505th
DRnmWnd
Is this corrosion inside the aircraft wing? - if so is it too serious to deal with? What would you do to fix it?

Attachments

• unnamed.jpg
    unnamed.jpg
    211.8 KB · Views: 215
Last edited:
Looks like anticorrosion material, with the usual accumulation of dust and other grah-doo.

If so, you can clean it off with mineral spirits (or maybe lacquer thinner) and it should look shiny healthy aluminum underneath (prepare to re-coat that area otherwise it will be susceptible to corrosion).

I concur with Let’s go flying. Clean off a spot and see what’s underneath.

Looks like mold to me, try cleaning a small area with bleach and see if it comes off.

NO, NO NO, BLEACH!!! BLEACH HAS SODIUM HYDROXIDE AS A STABILIZER. IT WILL DISSOLVE ALUMINUM

Holy crap, bleach has to be the duct tape of chemicals.

And yes I am a degreed chemist. With decades in the aerospace industry.

REPEAT, NO BLEACH NEAR AIRCRAFT....NEVER...EVER...

Have a nice day

I think the big X's means your plane needs to be grounded.

NO, NO NO, BLEACH!!! BLEACH HAS SODIUM HYDROXIDE AS A STABILIZER. IT WILL DISSOLVE ALUMINUM

Holy crap, bleach has to be the duct tape of chemicals.

And yes I am a degreed chemist. With decades in the aerospace industry.

REPEAT, NO BLEACH NEAR AIRCRAFT....NEVER...EVER...

Have a nice day
Didn't know that, but bleach does take out mold.

Ah, so it would solve the problem forever.

You got me there.
Actually, where I work this is an issue that we deal with that has no good remedy. Everything tried ends up attacking the structure, sooner or later.