is there a method to this madness?

WannFly

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Priyo
ok so I am getting semi serious about aircraft ownership and plan to train in it and get to IFR and knowing nothing about planes is making it very difficult since 1. I don't know which model will serve my purpose and 2. I have no idea what I want.

some of these questions might not make sense, newbie here...

is this the case for every first time buyer? so far this is what I know and there are literally thousands of them that fits... how the heck do I narrow down?

1. budget - modest. is there anything called modest budget for airplanes? don't know, but I am not looking for a 10k one and definitely not a 100k one. somewhere in between 50k may be?
2. avionics - well G1000 has a lot of buttons to push and I am training in one, but I know I cant afford it. and from what I hear, if I buy a 30k plane and spend another 30k on avionics, I am not getting that money back when I sell.. 3-4 years down the line, may be sooner
3. I would love to have some kind of moving map/ wx brief as much real time as possible. some of planes I see have Garmin 430 that might work, though I am not sure how much you can really see in a 4 inch screen without fiddling around with it constantly.
4. right now I fly C172 and have no idea how a low wing will fly or a 182 will fly.. and I don't have a low wing at my flight school... so if I cant find a low wing , I would have to decide between a 172 / 182. what are other forgiving models that I should be looking at being a absolute novice?

anything else I might have missed... please point away

First you have to define your mission. How many people for what types of trips?...both on an average day and once in a blue moon day. That will help define that plane that will fit your needs.