iPad vs. Nexus 7

Discussion in 'Flight Following' started by Jay Honeck, Aug 3, 2012.

  1. alaskaflyer

    alaskaflyer Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    7,545
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Alaskaflyer
    Heh. Come north of your old stomping grounds. The amount of acreage in Wisconsin, Minnesota, Michigan and even Illinois that only offers Edge network speeds is staggering. And some of them are sloooow even for Edge. I doubt Verizon is much better up here.

    Which is why I don't rely on the cloud for everything when I'm traveling.

    And then there is my summer home which doesn't have cellular service at all.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013
  2. ElPaso Pilot

    ElPaso Pilot Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,221
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    ElPaso Pilot
  3. wickedsprint

    wickedsprint Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    300
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Wickedsprint
    I went 32GB on the Ipad. I keep music on the phone.

    Foreflight, books and photos on the Ipad.

    Since we flight plan for 83 KTS, just having Florida loaded should be sufficient for awhile and saves me a ton of space.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2013
  4. LDJones

    LDJones Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,905
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jonesy
    What a dumb article. Like "OMG, Apple is brilliant! Who'd have thought you could put 128G in a tablet?!?! Sheer genius!"

    Really? Like we haven't seen steady growth in memory capacities in every other device we own?

    My only comment is, why did they take this long?! And why didn't they do it with their last refresh, which came so closely on the heels of their previous refresh that it pi$$ed off some of their loyal base (like my buddy, Mark!) Now they can anger those of us that spent a grand five weeks ago and would have preferred more memory then!

    The more I live with Apple the more I grow to dislike them.
     
  5. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    19,614
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Hmmm.

    What I really want is a Mini with the specs of an iPad 4 instead of an iPad 2, (or at the very least a Retina display) and the 128GB option. Sigh. I'm still plodding along with the original iPad because it's tough to make a decision on a device and a carrier for the upgrade, and this didn't help any.
     
  6. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    19,614
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    I dunno - I like to keep all the sectionals, enroutes, etc. up to date all the time for the entire ConUS. That's 7 GB-ish. When the updates come out, for a few days there's two of everything until the effective date of the new stuff - So, 14GB. OS takes a few, I have 10 more GB of music and probably another 10 or more of pictures, etc...

    I don't like to keep stuff on the cloud for several reasons. I love showing people pictures on my iPad, but if I had to wait for 'em to download, fuhgeddaboutit. Same with music. I probably don't need to keep a copy of One Six Right on there, but I do anyway. :D

    Devices don't get clogged, but pipes do - I'd rather have things accessible at all times regardless of the status of my Internet connection. :dunno:

    Why? It's not like it's that far from civilization, and it's got easy line of sight to some reasonably populated areas. Now if there was actually a tower on the island, I might be more amazed.
     
  7. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    19,614
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    I think the point was more that Apple is shipping next week, and nobody else has one ready with that much storage.

    Valid points, but the rest of the industry is as or more guilty of these same things. And it's not like they upped the memory for the same price or dropped the existing prices - The thing you and your buddy bought costs the same now as it does then.

    What's got me is more the price delta between the low and high end. Comparing the extremes now, there's a difference of $430 between them, and the ONLY difference is an extra 112GB of memory and a 3G chip. IMO, they really need to cut down on their gouging on the higher capacities.
     
  8. alaskaflyer

    alaskaflyer Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    7,545
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Alaskaflyer
    Hmmm...

     
  9. LDJones

    LDJones Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,905
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jonesy
    The difference between 16G and 32G on the Nexus is $50, half what apple charges.
     
  10. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    19,614
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Yep. That's where Apple needs to be. iPad 4? $499. Add nothing more than 112GB of storage and 4G and it's $929. Going with $50 increments on the storage and 4G would reduce that to a more reasonable $699. I know they love their margins, but I think it'd increase sales more than enough to make up the difference.
     
  11. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,394
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    In the "tablet makers are stupid" category...

    It exists! The charging dock for the Nexus 7, promised by ASUS last August, predicted a dozen times by every Android website, ridiculed by every Android pundit, and ordered by me before it was actually in-country, has finally shipped!

    This has been the dumbest cluster performed by any manufacturer, ever. ASUS has a product that has sold tens of millions of copies, making a charging dock a GUARANTEED $400 million dollar seller -- and they don't make one until 7 months into the production run? WTF?

    A rare example of an Asian manufacturer being incredibly stupid.
     
  12. Shepherd

    Shepherd En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,742
    Location:
    Hopewell Jct, NY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Shepherd
    There have been "other" docks available for the Nexus 7 for a few months now. Prices vary from $13.00 up to $56.00.
    I've been waiting for someone else to test one. :D
     
  13. JimNtexas

    JimNtexas Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim - In Texas!
    With Android support for saving data on SD cards on most platforms (not my Nexus 7, but most of them) are many people really that limited with 32 or 64G internal?
     
  14. roddie

    roddie Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    roddie
    Sadly, neither my N7 nor Galaxy Nexus support external storage.
     
  15. LDJones

    LDJones Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,905
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jonesy
    As soon as they incorporate an SD card in the Nexus the issue goes away.
     
  16. TMetzinger

    TMetzinger Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9,885
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tim
    And they won't. Part of the reason why is the lack of a standard for mounting external storage. One some devices internal memory is /sdcard, in others that's external memory.

    I have a phone with a 32GB SDCard, but since it's /extSDCard, it's not visible to my apps.
     
  17. LDJones

    LDJones Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,905
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jonesy
    That's just a standardization issue that can be easily overcome if they choose to.
     
  18. X3 Skier

    X3 Skier En-Route

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,578
    Location:
    I19 & SBS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Geezer
    Just like Android itself. :rofl:

    Cheers
     
  19. LDJones

    LDJones Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,905
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jonesy
    With flexibility comes some inherent chaos. But with flexibility ultimately comes power. I think Android is doing remarkably well. I've carried an Android phone for three years and have had about the same number of issues as I've had with my iPod Touch and my two iPads.
     
  20. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,394
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    I've had one of the "other" aftermarket docks since last September, use it daily, and can vouch for two reasons it (and all other aftermarket N7 docks) sucks:

    1. It docks the unit on the microUSB port. This is precarious, hard to find, and always feels like it's going to break.

    2. Because of the location of the microUSB port on the N7, the unit docks in the portrait orientation. Not optimal for viewing pix, watching video, etc.

    The new dock uses the four gold "pogo pins" on the side of the unit to charge, neatly putting the N7 in landscape mode. This leaves the microUSB available for other things -- like external storage.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S3...
     
  21. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,394
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Untrue. With the proper cable you can use any USB thumb drive to store/retrieve data with the Nexus 7.

    Google it, or do a search for it in the Android forums.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S3...
     
  22. roddie

    roddie Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    roddie
    Not what I meant - I have the dongle setup. I'm talking support for microSD storage to map to /sdcard like the other Android devices I've owned. I'm guessing you knew what I was talking about, though :)
     
  23. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,394
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Well, actually, no. I was only responding to what you said. :D
     
  24. TMetzinger

    TMetzinger Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9,885
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tim
    So, Jay, what was your source for the dock? B&H? I'm still waiting for a plentiful supply so I can order a pair of them.
     
  25. airdale

    airdale Pattern Altitude PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,509
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    airdale
    OK, in large part because of this thread I now have a Nexus 7 running Garmin Pilot. Sold my iPad for $400, so I"m ahead of the game. Pretty rare in aviation!

    Playing with Pilot in the car (haven't flown with it yet) I noticed that the tablet automatically shut down after its auto-shutdown setting of 5 minutes. I don't want this with Pilot running, but I can't find a setting in Pilot that will override the device setting. I know it's possible because I am also running Copilot Live (terrestrial GPS with all maps on board the device) and it has such a setting.

    Am I missing something? Is there an app?

    TIA
     
  26. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    13,443
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    I've been through this, too.

    According to Garmin support (and I can find the e-mail they sent me when I asked this question), the Nexus will go into sleep mode at whatever your normal timeout setting is. If you are in the Garmin Pilot app, and moving >40kts, the app will prevent the Nexus from going to sleep. I set the timeout to 30 minutes. When I've taken my Nexus flying, it's rare that 30 minutes will go by without me touching the screen anyway.
     
  27. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,394
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Yep, B&H.

    I'll post a review when it arrives.
     
  28. airdale

    airdale Pattern Altitude PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,509
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    airdale
    Odd behavior, but satisfactory I guess. I'm sure it was intuitive to the guy who designed it.

    Thanks.
     
  29. roddie

    roddie Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    roddie
    It makes perfect sense for a "default" feature/setting; where they fell short is not making the threshold configurable or allowing us to disable it.
     
  30. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    13,443
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    Here's a snippet from the e-mail I got from Garmin:

    >>
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The application is designed to have the screen stay on while you are in flight. If the application detects that you are moving over 40kts the screen will stay on and not go to sleep.

    You could also in the settings of the Nexus 7 change the time for the back light so it does not time out, but the application if it detects movement will keep the screen from going to sleep.
    [/FONT]
    <<
     
  31. chartbundle

    chartbundle Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    State of Confusion
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    chartbundle
    If you don't like the Garmin Pilot behavior you can download 'Tasker' which is not terribly intuitive but can easily be set to disable the display timeout when a specific application is running. It can also do more complex things like keep display on when Bluetooth is connected and external power is available for when I use my Android Phone as a music player in the car.
     
  32. Badger

    Badger Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,856
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Badger
  33. LDJones

    LDJones Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,905
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jonesy
    It was only a matter of time. Both will continue to grow in sheer numbers.
     
  34. Badger

    Badger Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,856
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Badger
    agree.
    Money follows money, so hopefully thats good news for Garmin Pilot app development and other Android aviation apps.
     
  35. TMetzinger

    TMetzinger Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9,885
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tim
    The garmin stay awake works just fine. If you're moving, it stays awake
     
  36. odachoo

    odachoo Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Santa Monica
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Odachoo
    Anyone using "Avilution AviationMaps" ?
    I'm using Garmin Pilots with my nexus but downloaded this software to try it out! By theway I can't use Naviator ! it has multiple crashes on my Nexus7 and basically it's useless !
     
  37. LDJones

    LDJones Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,905
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jonesy
    I am on my Droid M phone. Works fine there.
     
  38. Challenged

    Challenged Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,178
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Challenged
  39. X3 Skier

    X3 Skier En-Route

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,578
    Location:
    I19 & SBS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Geezer
    Staples finally had the Nexus 7 16 GB back in stock and I picked up two today to replace the ones that bricked. 24 hours later, they are still running.:D

    Cheers
     
  40. Jay Honeck

    Jay Honeck Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,394
    Location:
    Port Aransas, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay Honeck
    Good luck! Don't run the battery down to zero!
    :D