Initial ME training

warthog1984

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
LanCA'r
Question for the crowd:

I'm looking at adding a ME rating after I finish the TW endorsement (should be next time we can find X-winds).

I'm a 100hr VFR pilot who would either get the IR before (Part 61) or concurrent with the twin training (Part 141). End goal is going interesting places and being a part-time CFI. There's an outside chance of switching careers if I can find something better than late-night box hauling and pickup the HP/complex endorsements cheap. My options are below. Thoughts?

*Duchess/Seminole @ Part 61- $260/hr
*Seneca @ Part 61- $230/hr + 90 min drive
*B-55 @ Part 141- $300/hr + 120 minute drive
*DA-42 @ Part 61 - $375/hr with instructor + 120 minute drive
*DA-42 Level 5 FTD @ Part 61 - $110/hr + 120 minute drive
*SIMCOM/FlightSafety/RTC/CAE resident program?

Do you have your instrument rating? If not, do that. Otherwise you'll have to take two separate instrument check rides. And if the goal is commercial, the best bet is to do instrument CP-ASEL-IA, and then do your CP-AMEL-IA.

But if you want to get the VFR multi now for fun, I'd probably go with whatever is cheapest.

I recently finished my Multi. 8.8 total in a Duchess (including the ride). Easy airplane to fly. Speeds are easy to memorize. Big rudder, flies easily on one engine.

Personally, I'd do the IR first. That way, it's only one checkride for the ME addon, like the guy above me said.

I recently finished my Multi. 8.8 total in a Duchess (including the ride). Easy airplane to fly. Speeds are easy to memorize. Big rudder, flies easily on one engine.

Personally, I'd do the IR first. That way, it's only one checkride for the ME addon, like the guy above me said.

What they said, it's critical to find a good CFII though, I'd be looking for min 1000tt, 200 instrument (hood or actual) and 50 actual, ideally in a 135/121 setting.

Use a sim in the beginning and whenever you can't get IMC.