Independent Contractor CFI Removed from Work w/o Cause

aviator430

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
aviator430
I am an independent contractor CFI for a flight school that manages its reservations using an online scheduling system. Students schedule the school's aircraft and a listed instructor like me at will. I set my availability in the scheduling application. When a student books me for a flight, I arrange my personal schedule to ensure my plans the night before and the day of will allow me to be on time to the flight and fit for duty.

A student booked me and one of the school's aircraft for a lesson 6 days prior to the lesson date. 18 hours prior to the reservation, the manager of the school removed my name from the reservation and replaced it with his own, without notifying me until it had already happened. I attempted to call the manager and his boss, but they would not return my calls. The manager blamed his boss, claiming his boss advised him to do it. The boss texted me on Saturday morning confirming that it was his decision to change the reservation. I know the student personally and introduced him to the school. That student scheduled me for the lesson, not another instructor.

Has anyone had a similar experience? How did you handle it if the boss doesn't believe he was in the wrong? I believe I am entitled to some form of repayment for the cancellation by the company. I am not an employee, so as an independent contractor, reservations made by customers are my contracts to work. I am not permitted to work for any other company while under my independent contractor agreement with this one.

Nobody would sign a contract that says "All reservations are tentative, and you may be removed from one without notice for any reason."

* edited to provide some clarity on the original question

Last edited:
Entitled? Probably.

Worth nuking that bridge (it's well beyond burning)? Very doubtful.