I'm a pilot!!!!

MDeitch1976

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
MattCanFly
After receiving a couple discontinuance from weather, and another because the plane would not start, today I had my check ride.

I awoke a 7 AM this morning. Filed my flight plan for 1415z out of GAI and received my briefing. I arrived at the airport a little before 830AM. When I arrived the owner of the flight school had my plane out and running. Good to know the plane will start. I gave the plane a little pre flight pre flight. Didn't have to add fuel, that was convenient. I went and met Bob a few minutes before 9. He took my discontinuance sheet, and my log book, and sent me out to pre flight. He arrived after I had completed the pre flight. Go through the briefing, start things up, get all set up and ready to taxi. And then it hits me....I didn't pull the chocks. Got back in, went to start up again. Yelled out to clear the prop, started up, and then learned about an "aviation minute". Essentially, give a little more time for someone to get clear of my prop, then start.

Taxi'd out to the run up area. Had to do a little bobbing and weaving to get away from our hangar as another plane pulled in as we were leaving. As we taxi'd Bob recommended I crack the canopy. Little fogged up on my side. I wonder why, nerves maybe. I will say, I did not need any heat, Bob turned on the heat. Good thing he reminded me to take off my jacket before we got all belted in. The run up went OK. Need to put a lot into the brakes this time to keep the plane from turning while doing the run up. With the run up complete, we go to depart.