"I'm a pilot." No you are not.

This reminds me of when I had recently finished my astronaut training. I had just landed my F-14 at March AFB, and was in a nearby bar explaining this to a very hot barmaid, when this clown comes up and claims he himself is a jet pilot. I brought him back to earth when I told him I was also an astronaut.

He did give me some funny looks though. I guess he couldn't believe that someone who looked like me, long hair, old Levies, GD T shirt, could be doing such things. I had to explain to him it was because I was a CIA operative, so it was necessary for my undercover work. I was infiltrating the hippies at the time. Actually just one of them, very cute little love child, but of course I couldn't tell them about that.

Anyway, the barmaid didn't seem to believe me either. Funny world.

-John
Zephram Cochran was somewhat of a hippie. Not hard to see another astronaut that way.

I've reconsidered. He needs a Captain's hat with some "scrambled eggs" on it too. All that experience, he's earned it. ;)

> I told him I was also an astronaut ...

Every summer, I attend a party ... That involves floatplanes, friends, food and beer. One of the attendees is an honest to goodness, retired astronaut. We
Had a new guy attending ... And he had not yet been fully introduced to everybody.

So, it's past midnight. A drunk front has blown thru. The stories are getting, um, grander. We've got quite a collection of VARIED experience. Airline pilots, airshow pilots, a C130 pilot, a P51 and Seafury owner, an honest to goodness test pilot, a Citatation X DPE and us GA hanger-on'ers.

Somebody told a story ... And the retired astronaut replies, "that reminds me of something interesting that happened on my 3rd Shuttle flight ...

New guy interrupts with, "BULLS#!T! There's always some a-hole who claims he's a fighter pilot ... An astronaut? Three Shuttle flights? BULLS#IT!"