"I'm a pilot." No you are not.

bigblockz8

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Gore
I have this friend, he claims to be a PP-ASEL with his instrument, working on commercial. I have yet to see any proof. He has stuck to this story for the past two years. When he speaks it is contradictory to his "experience."

First thing I did was check the airman database...nothing! He never came up, not even a SPC. He has a logbook though, but the logbook has ~600hrs. But they are all in a Cessna 206 or 207! They are also from 2005-2008, he would have been 15-18. Claims not to have his certificate in his wallet because there is, "no need."

*- marks a red flag

So I dropped the issue until I remembered it today. We were railfanning and I see a flight of two go by. I remark that the flight of two is from Freeway. He says that you need a waiver to fly formation*. We later see a super low (about 200agl) 152 flying by. He remarks that the airplane just lost it's engine*. The aircraft was on very short final into Tipton Airport and set up for a power off approach.

So we decide, since we have spare time and since it's only 300ft away, let's go to Tipton. At the fence we're watching the ops. This pilot comes up and we all begin to chat. We continue to talk and we get to how the guy almost spun his Lancair IV. My friend asks what that is. The pilot explains that he built it, yada yada. My friend is shocked to learn that you can build your own aircraft*. He remarks that it goes into the high 20's with it. My friend asks how that's possible when the aircraft isn't an airliner and does not have a jet engine*. The owner explains. We tour the cockpit and my friend looks at the nav equipment and says that it's a lot of stuff. He asks what "this" (TCAS) is*.

Now he tells a flying story after the other pilot told one.