IFR in/near mountianous terrain

Capt.Crash'n'Burn

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Capt.Crash'n'Burn
I'm sure this is a stupid question but it isn't my first nor my last. :D

I've been watching Alaska Wing Men and Flying Wild Alaska on cable and one thing that I noticed on both shows is an almost total reliance on VFR flying. They seem to treat clouds as if they're radioactive or something.
It seems to me that just a little IFR navigation would allow them to descend into clouds while being aware of where the mountian ranges are.

Is it just too dangerous to try to fly IFR near mountians and into mountian valleys??

I haven't watched the shows but I'll presume most flights are operated under part 135, which requires FAA approved opspecs. I have no detailed knowledge of the typical opspec for SE on-demand and sightseeing operations in Alaska but my guess is the requirements for IMC flight would be draconian. Plus, even in class G airspace you have requirements for enroute terrain clearance.

IOW for the vast majority of flights legal IFR just isn't worth it. Illegal IFR? Well you watched the show didn't you?

You can go fly around invisible rocks. Enjoy. Where I am a navigation error will get you lost. There it will really ruin your day.

As you watched the 180 land on the ridge, didn't you hear the GPS warning about terrain ??

I'm guessing that Alaska is similar to California in that IFR MEA's over the mountains are high enough that ice is an issue. I generally treat clouds over 10,000 feet to be radioactive too. At least in the winter time.

From the charts, it looks like there are places where the mountains are not terribly high, but I suspect that in Alaska, they don't have to be all that high in order for icing to be an issue.