IFR in actual harder day or night?

bugsiegel

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Bugsiegel
I'm a low time IFR pilot. No autopilot time at all and never seen IMC at night.
Is there a difference? Is it easier to commit to the instruments at night because there's no chance of seeing anything out of the window or is daytime easier because the panel is easier to see? I'm mostly talking about being in the clouds and not necessarily in the hard stuff.
Do you guys have a preference?

Night time adds an element of difficulty, especially if you aren't accustomed to it. I wouldn't recommend night actual IMC for a low time pilot. Although my first actual IMC solo experience was at night, and only about 2 weeks after I got my IR. Looking back, I shouldn't have jumped in like that but I was confident at the time.

I personally think night is easier. Turn off the exterior lights and turn up the panel lights, and you mostly remove seeing anything disorienting outside.

Breaking out on approach, night makes it much easier to see the approach/runway lights, especially at at minimums with low visibility. Good luck seeing anything at 1,800RVR with the sun in your eyes, but those high-intensity lights at night will illuminate the flight deck and let you get much lower for landing.

Last edited:
Neither here nor there from a flying perspective. But at night it's harder to evaluate weather out the window or identify emergency landing sites in the event of an emergency, so the risk is higher. Night is often smoother, though.

I did a lot of my IFR training at night. I like it, it's usually smooth and there is less traffic and distractions.

I very much prefer night IFR to night VFR too.

I personally thing night is easier. Turn off the exterior lights and turn up the panel lights, and you mostly remove seeing anything disorienting outside.