If I hadn't done something we would be dead

pilotstudent

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Pilot Student
I am a student pilot with 30 hours training. Before today I considered myself an average student in relation to piloting skills with above average ground school aeronautical knowledge. I was comfortable with everything except landing. I have studied landing techniques from multiple resources but never felt like I was very good at it.

Today I went for a pre-solo check which if I passed would mean I would be clear to fly solo. The pre-solo check was with the chief flight instructor who is not my usual instructor. Everything went fine except for the landing. I know it may seems strange but I can't remember the details. I remember the traffic pattern was ok, the final approach was ok, glide slope, speed, flaps, etc. but moments before touch down, the aiming point I usual go for seemed off, and remember thinking I'll readjust early on the runway, next thing I know the instructor took over and "landed" pretty hard. We did a touch and go and one more landing that was "ok". I knew I wasn't going to be cleared for a solo which I was fine with, but back in the office with my instructor and another instructor I was told if he hadn't done something we would be dead. For me it was about the worst thing I could hear as I am not a thrill seeker and will not become a pilot if I am not safer than average. I tried to ask for more details but couldn't really hear much as I was about to throw up. He described it as diving for the ground. Maybe he is over reacting, maybe I am over reacting. Right now I don't even know what I did wrong to lead to such a dangerous situation. I think its probably one of two things, I was fixated too much on the aim point and did not flare in time, or maybe I was too high, cut power too much for too steep a decent.