IATA Identifiers.

Discussion in 'Hangar Talk' started by AdamZ, Oct 17, 2021.

  1. AdamZ

    AdamZ Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    14,819
    Location:
    Montgomery County PA

    Display name:
    Adam Zucker
    Why does IATA use different identifier codes than ICAO? Was looking at flight Radar24 and saw a Charter flight service that regularly flys out of my home field (KLOM) it listed the origin of the flight as BBX rather than the ICAO ID LOM.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2021
  2. bluesky74656

    bluesky74656 Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    732
    Location:
    Brecksville, OH

    Display name:
    Todd Kooser
    Marco Island Executive has the same situation where the IATA and ICAO codes don’t match. In this case it’s because the three character version of its ICAO code was already assigned to another airport, so they had to choose something different. It looks like the LOM IATA code is assigned to Francisco P.V. y R. Airport in Lagos de Moreno, Jalisco, Mexico, so it’s probably the same case.
     
  3. AdamZ

    AdamZ Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    14,819
    Location:
    Montgomery County PA

    Display name:
    Adam Zucker
    Ah thanks for the explanation! Actually the IATA identifier makes more sense than the ICAO. Wings ICAO is LOM ( yea the same as an outer marker) Wings is located in Blue Bell PA so BBX makes a bit more sense.
     
  4. Cap'n Jack

    Cap'n Jack Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    8,371
    Location:
    Nebraska

    Display name:
    Cap'n Jack
    You see that a lot outside of the USA, where IATA is very different from ICAO.
    Hong Kong HKG -> VHHH
    Shanghai Pudong PVG -> ZSPD
    Kolkata CCU -> VECC
    Frankfurt FRA -> EDDF
    London Heathrow LHR -> EGLL
    It seems odd the USA has so many that match!
     
  5. Bell206

    Bell206 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    5,831

    Display name:
    Bell206
    Not really. Follow the money. IATA is a private group funded by private money vs the ICAO and public money. And guess who has the most airports per capita?
     
  6. Cap'n Jack

    Cap'n Jack Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    8,371
    Location:
    Nebraska

    Display name:
    Cap'n Jack
    Interesting, makes sense.
     
  7. Everskyward

    Everskyward Experimenter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    33,389

    Display name:
    Everskyward
    Narita NRT - RJAA
    Cape Town CPT - FACT
    Couple that come to mind...
     
    Cap'n Jack likes this.
  8. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    22,043
    Location:
    Catawba, NC

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    The IATA codes predate the ICAO ones, further IATA isn't limited to airports. There are codes that refer to the city when there are multiple airports there (for instance, WAS and DCA/IAD/BWI). There are also some railway stations in the mix.
     
  9. Cap'n Jack

    Cap'n Jack Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    8,371
    Location:
    Nebraska

    Display name:
    Cap'n Jack
    I wonder if the use the single city code that you mention, anymore.
    I'd forgotten about the rail stations. Some years ago, I took Amtrak between Baltimore and Philadelphia. I was surprised to notice they had a codeshare with some airline- maybe United?
     
  10. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    22,043
    Location:
    Catawba, NC

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    More train stations in the IATA list are European ones. WAS works fine on the few sites I tested it on.
     
  11. Cap'n Jack

    Cap'n Jack Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    8,371
    Location:
    Nebraska

    Display name:
    Cap'n Jack
    I'm not surprised there are more IATA train stations in Europe. Train travel is much more convenient, there.
    As for WAS, what is it used for? I don't think the airlines use it, for example. At least, they don't hang a generic WAS tag on luggage.
     
  12. KSCessnaDriver

    KSCessnaDriver Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,201
    Location:
    C62

    Display name:
    KSCessnaDriver
    IIRC, United did. I don't think they do any more, I think it ended at the beginning of 2021.
     
    Cap'n Jack likes this.
  13. masloki

    masloki Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,313

    Display name:
    DD
    Canadian airports all vary between the two. CHI does pick up ORD and MDW, and probably Union Station for Amtrak. It’s handy when searching fares and you don’t care which airport shows up. Living here, there is a big difference between the two. In my field, we get surprised as not all airports have an IATA assigned but we drive everything by it. I think the one other gotcha was ICAO isn’t required to be unique, whereas IATA is.
     
  14. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    22,043
    Location:
    Catawba, NC

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    For a long time, Amtrak was a better deal in the WAS <-> NYC connection. You got a relatively sane and comfortable ride straight from downtown DC (Union station) to downtown Manhattan (Penn Station) in about the same overall elapsed time on the metroliner and even better now on Acela.
     
  15. clear_prop

    clear_prop Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    San Jose, CA

    Display name:
    John
    IATA codes WAS/NYC/QSF/QLA/etc are used to search flights to all the airports in those metro areas. WAS is IAD/DCA/BWI, NYC is JFK/LGA/EWR, etc.
     
  16. Ted

    Ted The pilot formerly known as Twin Engine Ted

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,734

    Display name:
    iFlyNothing
    Even though I’ve ridden the Amtrak Metroliner many times, the first thing that came to mind was this Metroliner:

    upload_2021-10-19_21-54-0.jpeg
     
  17. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    22,043
    Location:
    Catawba, NC

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    I remember those things. Perhaps the most uncomfortable commuter I've flown in. I knew I was in trouble when they wanted to know if I wanted to check my brief case.
     
  18. Cap'n Jack

    Cap'n Jack Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    8,371
    Location:
    Nebraska

    Display name:
    Cap'n Jack
    Useful to know! Thanks much! A little google-fu will get me those identifiers, I'm sure.
     
  19. Ben Glick

    Ben Glick Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2021
    Messages:
    12

    Display name:
    glick
    USA also has many older airports - older airports probably chose the identifiers first.
     
  20. wsuffa

    wsuffa Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,615
    Location:
    DC Suburbs

    Display name:
    Bill S.
    Even the NE Regional isn't too bad depending on the train. Some of the regionals make only a couple more stops than the Acela at a cost savings that can be as much as $150 (compared to Acela). Amtrak prices Acela to be comparable to the air shuttles, but is way more convenient downtown to downtown.