I think this is a "over the top gadgets" spoof.. but maybe not.

TheGolfPilot

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Golfpilot

If this really exists, it needs to be stopped. This guy is practically in permanent IMC with that Ipad in his face. If you need this to fly a plane (especially one with a g1000) you shouldn't be flying.

Why is everyone so concerned about single pilots? I'm a single pilot! It's true I was a married student pilot, but I've got 250+ hours since being re-singled.

Actually, that sounds no worse than an EFB app, and probably no better either. Like a lot of automation, it moves all the workload up front, and mistakes probably won't show up until later. If you don't tell it your assigned runway, it won't monitor it (at least, not correctly).

It's a good thing they have put some attention into the distractions; it really is a big problem with all the iGadgets. But, it remains to be seen if they are successful. Designing a good user interface is quite difficult, and it will have to be incredibly good to accomplish their goal. For instance, it's not helpful if the voice command interface tells you to repeat yourself 50 times because it can't distinguish your voice from the very noisy ambient environment.

It's a good thing they have put some attention into the distractions; it really is a big problem with all the iGadgets. But, it remains to be seen if they are successful. Designing a good user interface is quite difficult, and it will have to be incredibly good to accomplish their goal. For instance, it's not helpful if the voice command interface tells you to repeat yourself 50 times because it can't distinguish your voice from the very noisy ambient environment.

I'd love to have enough aural alerts to get the EFB out of my scan entirely. Voice commands would be cool too. "Betty, what's the weather at KXYZ?"